Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for What the Lonely Know

morgaine_dulac 2010.04.23 - 12:37PM 9: Silently Screaming Signed
The saddest chapter of this story. Yet brilliant.

Author's Response: Sadness... It can be a thing of beauty, sometimes.

Severus49 2010.04.23 - 09:45AM 9: Silently Screaming Signed
The most complex word in Snape's language is 'TRUST'. It's not that he doesn't have it, it's not that he doesn't want it, it's not even that he wants to give it - it's that he really doesn't know HOW trust is gained, earned, given and kept. He wants it but it's absolutely frightening to him , as though his definition of trust is the very opposite of power. But ironically it's both trust (i.e. love, some might say) and power that he's so desperately craved.

Author's Response: You make a most elegant and eloquent point. I agree that 'trust' is something which Snape desperately craves, and he doesn't seem to recognise when he has earned it. Snape HAS Dumbledore's trust. But still he wants more. As you say, Snape doesn't seem to know what to do with trust. I think that springs from not being able to trust himself. And I can see how that would happen, after all the mistakes he has made. Thank you for reviewing!

Severus49 2010.04.23 - 09:44AM 9: Silently Screaming Signed
The most complex word in Snape's language is 'TRUST'. It's not that he doesn't have it, it's not that he doesn't want it, it's not even that he wants to give it - it's that he really doesn't know HOW trust is gained, earned, given and kept. He wants it but it's absolutely frightening to him , as though his definition of trust is the very opposite of power. But ironically it's both trust (i.e. love, some might say) and power that he's so desperately craved.

Author's Response: You make a most elegant and eloquent point. I agree that 'trust' is something which Snape desperately craves, and he doesn't seem to recognise when he has earned it. Snape HAS Dumbledore's trust. But still he wants more. As you say, Snape doesn't seem to know what to do with trust. I think that springs from not being able to trust himself. And I can see how that would happen, after all the mistakes he has made. Thank you for reviewing!

a1severuslives 2010.04.22 - 09:35PM 9: Silently Screaming Signed
This is brilliant! Terribly sad, as we know how it ends up. I confess I still struggle with the concept of Snape being so totally consumed with love for Lily when she never gave an ounce of decent friendship to him and Snape just misconstrued her intent. Especially when other authors can believably construct a fragile and rocky relationship with female characters as you have done here.

Author's Response: Writing believable canon-compliant stories can be fiendishly difficult because of Snape's love for Lily, so I'm glad the characters' relationship works for you. I think Snape's numerous insecurities blinded him in his childhood friendship with Lily, and I also think Lily cared for him immensely, up until their fifth year at Hogwarts. But, of course, this is the beauty of fiction: we interpret characters in different ways :)

saraband16 2010.04.19 - 03:59AM 8: Waiting in Darkness Signed
Oooh...jealous Snape! I love it!! Thanks for the quick update...but I have to admit I was really feeling for Snape during that Remus/Dora talk at Grimmauld. Aww...poor baby. Thanks again!

Author's Response: Yes, it was hard for him to hear that conversation, even though he won't admit it to himself. There are two more chapters remaining, and they should be posted by the beginning of May. Thanks for your enthusiatic reviews :)

morgaine_dulac 2010.04.18 - 01:01PM 8: Waiting in Darkness Signed
Not jealous or possessive? Ha! Denial, anyone? Well, he has had a lot of practice in the subject. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yes, Snape has indeed spent a lot of time sailing through the heart of Egypt! After a lifetime of pretending he has no feelings, it will be almost impossible for him to recognise them now, even though they are staring him in the face. Thanks for reviewing; I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter.

star_girl 2010.04.18 - 10:48AM 8: Waiting in Darkness Signed
Bwa ha! Severus, "not jealous or possessive". What a load of dragon dung ;)

Author's Response: I just adore Snape when he's distorting and denying his feelings. He's had a lifetime's practice of talking himself out of his emotions, and adopting cold detachment and indifference. Of course, his feelings are there for the reader to see. It entertains me that you find his denial amusing! :)

jeneacapp 2010.04.18 - 07:47AM 8: Waiting in Darkness Signed
Another wonderful and well written chapter. I do believe Professor Snape is becoming a little more involved with the relationship than he thinks. Hmmm. What a lucky girl Dora is!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, and yes, Snape seems to be kidding himself about his involvement with her. Tonks gets the benefit, of course!

Severus49 2010.04.11 - 11:53PM 7: Making Plans Signed
pant pant pant! What a way to wake up!

Author's Response: Yes, it's a nice start to the day, IMO!

morgaine_dulac 2010.04.11 - 03:36PM 7: Making Plans Signed
Hmm, first fic I've read in my new bedroom nice one! I'll miss those two when allis over.

Author's Response: I'm privileged to have "Christened" your bedroom, figuratively speaking! I too may miss these two when the story is over. They've been a delightful surprise for me!

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved