Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for What the Lonely Know

johnbly341 2010.08.24 - 03:40AM 10: From the Journal of Nymphadora Tonks Signed
Very nice, though certainly bittersweet given canon. I wasn't sure when I started that i was going to like the pairing of Severus and Tonks, but you did a wonderful job of portraying their loneliness and need for connection. Thank you for the great story.

Author's Response: I'm touched that you've looked me up again and have tried my story despite your misgivings about the pairing. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 04:20PM 10: From the Journal of Nymphadora Tonks Signed
Hmmm... that's a satisfying ending. They were looking for such different things in this relationship, and even though they're both disappointed with the way it came out, it satisfied their purposes in a way. Thought-provoking, for sure.

Author's Response: I'm pleased that you found the ending satisfying... Their relationship was doomed from the start, and it was an interesting challenge for me to write an ending which didn't leave the reader feeling cheated. If the story provoked thoughts as well, then I've achieved my goal. Thanks so much for reading the story in one go, and taking time to review each chapter - it's much appreciated : )

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 04:14PM 9: Silently Screaming Signed
Oh, dear, he's gotten to the point where he has to fish or cut bait and he doesn't feel he CAN do the former and he doesn't want to do the latter. What used to be a pleasant diversion has now become one of the impossible demands of his impossible life.

Author's Response: Sadly, their relationship was always going to be impossible. Snape's position as triple agent was always going to be their undoing. Not to mention his inability to form attachments!

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 04:09PM 8: Waiting in Darkness Signed
I love seeing how similar they are. If the tables were turned and Lily was still alive, he would be singing a similar tune to the one Tonks is here, and deep down, he probably knows it.

Author's Response: Deep down, probably. But he is a master of concealing his emotions. Even from himself.

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 03:55PM 7: Making Plans Signed
This chapter is fun and even a little cute. I'm glad they were able to play a little bit.

Author's Response: So am I. As I knew where they were headed, I wanted them to enjoy each other for a while.

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 03:49PM 6: Resolutions Signed
Poor Severus, gloating over a relationship that makes no demands upon him, not realizing that the sort of relationships he secretly wants demand everything from us. Yet somehow, he has invested himself into it to an extent she knows is impossible. Of course, she's had the example of her parents all her life. The comparison between Tonks and her aunt is interesting here.

Author's Response: You are incredibly perceptive!

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 03:39PM 5: For Auld Lang Syne Signed
It seems as though this relationship is as much about who has the upper hand as anything else. It adds a level of melancholy to the whole thing, doesn't it?

Author's Response: It is sad that they can't talk things over and can't properly connect, so they spend their time vying for power instead.

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 03:33PM 4: Secret Eden Signed
I love watching him do thoughtful things for other people.

Author's Response: Even when those thoughtful things are also self-serving...? Hehe!

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 03:27PM 3: Only the Lonely Signed
Now I like them. They've stopped trying to hurt each other just because they can and now they're sharing something that offers them both comfort.

Author's Response: I think the characters started to like themselves in this chapter...

Rose of the West 2010.05.06 - 03:20PM 2: Consequences Signed
I waited until this was finished so I could read it all at once (and RL has gotten hectic)... What I find enthralling about this story so far, in both chapters, is that I don't really like either of these characters. They're hurtful and a little mean. On the other hand, I DO feel for them. It's pretty rare for me to have that mix of feelings about characters. Usually I have to like them or I get bored. Maybe it's that they're a bit damaged by various events and have unrequited love in common. The difference from this point is that Tonks won't take no for an answer from Remus while Snape is stuck with his unrequited love.

Author's Response: Yes, they are hurtful and mean, and essentially damaged. That was the exact reason why I could envisage the pairing. Snape, underneath his guarded persona, probably craves empathy and understanding. He has a chance to find both of those things with Tonks. But can he allow his guard to drop? I'm glad you could feel for the characters, even if you didn't like them much. There is much to be said for understanding people, without necessarily *liking* them : )

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved