Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for The Day He Fell

duj 2014.07.23 - 08:48AM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
I thought lily dropped him quite a bit sooner than that moment, TBH. She might still be protesting "best friends" after the Shack incident, but her words are screaming anything but. She hasn't bothered to check how he is days after a near-death experience and she's pre-judged him wrong and toerag-James the hero without even hearing his side of the story. And not-listening seems to be her modus operandi. She scorns his demonstrably true "theory" about Lupin (Hermione picked it in less than three months of third year; why is Lily so stupid?), she scorns his attempt to compare *her* housemates (one of whom has just tried to *kill* him. I seriously doubt what Mulciber "tried to do" was as bad) with his, she blames him for caring that the Marauders routinely bully him, ... and then she lies and pretends she still sees James for the toerag he is...

Author's Response: Hi there! I love getting reviews for stories that I don't remember having written. Seriously, I had to go back and read it. Must agree with you: I have been way too nice to Lily in this one. This must be rectified. ;-)

kittymipie 2011.06.06 - 11:03PM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
v.v, soo sad, lily u b*tch!

Author's Response: My sentiments, exactly! /M

Neko Mata 2010.12.11 - 10:56AM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
Ah, this is so sad, again! Poor Severus, he should have one TRUE friend at least, anyone deserves one! And Lily defintely wasn´t that. I like blaming her too! ;) Brilliantly witten, as I already expected of you.

Author's Response: Thanks for all you praise today. You have me smiling broadly :-)

Very Small Prophet 2010.11.15 - 06:53PM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
In Lily's treatment of Severus, the most generous interpretation I can come up with is that she knows she's going to have to break Sev's heart someday, so she grabs the Mudblood Incident as an opportunity to end their friendship on a matter of principle and feel noble about it, rather than having to say, "I'm sorry, Sev, I don't love you," and feel like scum. Perfectly understandable in a sixteen-year-old girl, but hardly something to be proud of. In a less generous interpretation she can be seen as a gold-digger. The Muggleborn who grew up one neighborhood over from Spinner's End milks her poverty-stricken best friend for his knowledge of the wizarding world, then throws him over in favor of a rich pureblood. Whether the second interpretation is true or not, I'm sure tongues were wagging (and not just in Slytherin House) over this little love triangle.

Author's Response: Uh, Lily the Gold Digger. Love it! I must say, I have got over my aversions for Lily (a bit). As you say, she was a teen. Teens act in strange ways. What bugs me most, I think, is that she is made out to be a saint by everyone else. Thanks for reading and leaving your thoughts!

NJ Dryad 2010.08.27 - 02:09AM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
You captured Severus' feelings of sadness and despair very accurately, I think, and in language that's both spare and elegant. Although I think his and Lily's friendship was based on geographic proximity and would have fizzled out anyway, and I don't blame Lily for ending it, I DO blame her for the WAY she ended it. Instead of being straight with Severus and saying she didn't want to be friends any more, she waited for him to screw up and then acted like the breakup was all HIS fault. This was really despicable, since she knew he was loaded down with guilt, shame, and self-blame already. As for Lily's being a saint, well--my maternal grandmother is referred as a "saint" by the rest of my family, but to me she was one of the cruelest and most hateful people I've ever met. So much for sainthood!

Author's Response: I very much agree with you. The way Lily ended their friendship was very cowardly. One would have expected more of a Gryffindor. Thank you very much for reading and leaving your thoughts on the topic. /M

Author's Response: I very much agree with you. The way Lily ended their friendship was very cowardly. One would have expected more of a Gryffindor. Thank you very much for reading and leaving your thoughts on the topic. /M

LChaim 2010.05.18 - 10:16PM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
THis is amazing and my thoughts exactly on Lily! What kidn of person lets their friend slide into Darkness like that and do nothing to help?!? Poor Severus deserved at least on true fried! I loved this and it will def be favorited!

Author's Response: I think Lily made her choice long before the incident at the lake. Severus calling her a Mudblood just gave her an excuse to finally break off their friendship. In my opinion, she did not deserve Severus' devotion, no matter if they had been childhood friends. I am very glad that you liked the little piece. Thanks for letting me know.

hexgirl 2010.01.06 - 01:42PM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
Fantastic. You have my thoughts on Lily to a tea. His whole life could have been so different, if she had only accepted his heart-felt apology. How she could turn away from him so callously, I will never understand. I can never think of her as the uncommonly kind creature described by Lupin in POA the movie. This could well have been his worst memory, not only because it led to the loss of Lily, butalso because it ultimately drove him to despair. It was indeed the day he fell. Cow! (Lily, not you).

Author's Response: Muuh. Oh, NOT me, you said ;) I very much dislike Lily for how she treated Severus. Sure, he must have been a pain to be with, and all her other friends told her to stay away from him. She was under a lot of pressure. But this is NOT how a true friend acts.

Ailura Hkr 2009.07.28 - 05:49PM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
Thank you for that one. Short as it is, the story is to the point, and well written, too.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I liked writing it.

Overhill 2009.03.31 - 01:38AM 1: The Day He Fell Signed
Very interesting premise - what would have happened if the teen-age Lily had been able to give him one more chance? How much difference that one act of forgiveness would have made? Or perhaps he might have blown it one more time... Thank you for an interesting read.

Author's Response: It could have made all the difference in the world ... or none at all. I just like blaming Lily ;-) Thanks for reading and leaving a note. /M

severus_slave 2008.12.22 - 10:35PM 1: The Day He Fell Anonymous
I never did like Lily, I always thought she was a bit of an immature brat. Would it have killed her to just hear him out that day...wait, it did, didn't it. Unfortunately, it's Severus that suffers for it. Your piece really spoke to what must have darkened his poor soul that day. The real tragedy is that Severus, a true hero in my book, never sees just how heroic he really is in the end.

Author's Response: I agree with you 110%, severus_slave, on all the points! Happy Holidays. /M

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved