Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Hide and Seek

Agnus Castus 2010.04.18 - 08:18AM 1: One-shot Signed
I've really enjoyed this one-shot :) Severus with greying hair incited a little pang of "Awww!" in me. I, too, can see post-war Severus living out his days in solitary fashion, and can imagine him returning to work at Hogwarts just for the money. I really can picture him lamenting the lack of monetary award from the Ministry, because I don't think he'd return to teaching unless he had to. And, yes, he'd have some of his harder edges softened by the passage of time and by the redemptive nature of his involvement in the war, and might even start to think about reaching out from his solitary world. He can cook me apple pie any day! This was a very well-written piece, intelligently thought out, with a lovely portrayal of a slowly mellowing professor. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I think this was the first actual story I ever posted on this site (having only posted a poem up until then) and so, in a sense, I was kind of 'testing the water' with my writing skills! I like your comments of a 'slowly mellowing professor' and the fact that you consider he'd have had his harder edges softened by the passage of time - that's exactly how I see it! :-)

CareCrystal 2008.12.09 - 05:32PM 1: One-shot Signed
Reviewer: nome de porn Signed [Report This] Date: 23/11/08 - 09:56 am Title: One-shot I'm afraid after you and I have successfully 'Obliviated' our husbands, I shall have to duel you to the death to be first in queue. But perhaps an arrangement could be made in which we took turns with the Potions Master. God knows he would deserve it! Thanks for the laugh, and no the culprit wasn't that obvious. It did make me think that Mrs. Norris was an animagus, because of her old age. Boy, those would be some interesting stories!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reviewing - I'm glad you found my little story amusing! I think the SS queue is getting too ridiculously long now for poor old Sev to cope, although it would definately be fun to see if he could! BTW, I just assumed that as witches and wizards seem to live so much longer in the HP world, then probably cats do too!

Reviewer: debjunk Signed [Report This] Date: 23/11/08 - 01:57 am Title: One-shot

I really can't see Severus in a retirement community in Hogsmeade. My Dad's in one of those and I had to chuckle at the thought! And the cottage. At least he realized his silliness.

I think part of him likes the solitude and wouldn't know what to do without it. Then there's the other part, that wishes his life were different. You've captured both sides, I think.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you picked up on the very things I was trying to portray! Severus is definately a very complex character (aren't we all!) but is clearly a loner which, in truth, means he is no doubt lonely deep down and probably wishes he could intergrate a bit more. I just think his past would hold him back too much and the 'old habits die hard' would come into play, meaning he would have no choice but to continue his existence at Hogwarts. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Titaniafey Signed [Report This] Date: 22/11/08 - 07:43 am Title: One-shot A lovely neat little story, thanks for sharing, Titania

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review, I really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: Trickie Woo Signed [Report This] Date: 20/11/08 - 10:46 pm Title: One-shot I enjoyed reading this, you have a wonderful way with descriptive writing. The description in the second paragraph could have come from a gothic novel, maybe one by Victoria Holt. Mrs. Norris was not a let down, after all this was a character study, and plot comes way behind personality in a character study. Custom demands that age goes before beauty in that queue, and though any beauty I had is faded, I definitely know I'm older than you (I saw your profile) and anybody else who has reviewed; so that means I'm first in the queue. My hubby naps a lot, so it would be easy to fit a little tryst in occasionally.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review. I guess I'll have to concede to shifting back in the queue a bit as far as SS is concerned - but only a bit mind!

Reviewer: star_girl Signed [Report This] Date: 20/11/08 - 10:25 am Title: One-shot Bless you x

Reviewer: star_girl Signed [Report This] Date: 20/11/08 - 10:12 am Title: One-shot Well, I would guess that he visits a certain green-eyed star_girl near London for some fun and frolics, haha ;)

Author's Response: Believe me, if I could make him real I would! And BTW (and I hope you don't think I'm speaking out of turn here) don't give up on finding love. I truly believe that there's someone for everyone out there if you look hard enough. From reading your wonderful stories I'd say you're someone with a lot of love to give. I think we all tend to use this site as an outlet for that :)

Reviewer: star_girl Signed [Report This] Date: 20/11/08 - 10:03 am Title: One-shot Lovely job, I really enjoyed this! Severus + cats = always good in my book. I know what you mean about Severus returning to Hogwarts - I genuinely think he believes it to be his home, no matter how much he grumbles about dunderheads. It's sad to think he's never found love, but then again, not everyone does, and I'm living proof of that. Looking forward to more from you.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review. I really appreciate it. Poor old Severus, everyone seems to think I've implied he's 'on the shelf'! I actually only wrote the story to suggest he'd no doubt return to teaching at Hogwarts if he hadn't been killed off and, many years later, still can't face the easy option of 'retiring' out of it! What he does in his spare time, away from school, is up to him of course! Any offers?!

Reviewer: morgaine_dulac Signed [Report This] Date: 20/11/08 - 09:52 am Title: One-shot I simply adore you work!

Author's Response:

Thank you - you're so kind! This is only my second 'attempt' at fanfic (I'm working my way up to something bigger!), so I really appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: Rose of the West Signed [Report This] Date: 20/11/08 - 08:59 am Title: One-shot That's funny. I think the "confirmed batchelor" Snape is as likely as any outcome, too.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review. I hope we can all continue to write/read SS stories with plenty of romance in as they are definately the best but, at the risk of being controversial here, I think JKR had no choice but to kill him off and couldn't give him the happy 'fairy tale' ending we'd all have liked for him (just didn't like the way she did it, that's all!) Thanks again for reviewing!




Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved