Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Two Sides (The Spy Who Loves Me)

Herbologist 2012.02.07 - 04:53PM 1: none Signed
Oh, this is beautiful. You manage to encapsulate all the tragedy and emotion of SS/OC fiction in so few words. Lovely, just lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you - I'm SO glad you enjoyed this. Your review means more to me than you can imagine :-)

Bella_Portia 2008.12.16 - 02:28AM 1: none Signed
I enjoyed your poem, although the title caused me to hold in mind, as I read it, the spy who dominated my high school literature-fueled fantasizing, to wit, Ian Fleming's spy (and not, alas, JKR's.) It was surely fun, as I read along, to compare the two of them. The staid, chaste schoolmaster and the suave man of the world: two spies, two assassins, each one more dangerous than the onlooker could imagine. You did a nice job of conveying that idea.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for spending the time to review my little poem and for all your comments; I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Trickie Woo 2008.10.30 - 06:36PM 1: none Signed
Between you and Pittwitch praising me, I'll be getting a swelled head. This meets my criteria for poetry, it rhymes and it's not at all obscure, I understand every word. Literary snobs would call me lowbrow, but my favorite poets are Eugene Field, Ogden Nash, and Tom Leher, though Edger Allan Poe is my absolute favorite poet. Blank verse totally turns me off. That movie was wonderful, I saw it while I was still in school and then once or twice on TCM. Hugh Griffith plays the British agent who blackmails/extorts William Holden into becoming a spy and he's very much like Dumbledore, a total Machiavellian. He will use any means to achieve his ends, but he tells Holden that from the beginning. I see that it's out on DVD so I'm going to order it through amazon.

Author's Response: Nice to hear from you again, Trickie Woo - thanks for coming back! I somehow don't think you'll end up with a swelled head &, although I haven't read what Pitwitch says about you, it does just show how so many of us are grateful for your constructive comments and input. Whilst the movie you again mention sounds interesting, I don't think it's one I'll be rushing out to buy at the moment (after all, Alan Rickman isn't in it so where's the insentive! As you've probably gathered, I'm not just an SS fan but a total Rickmaniac aswell!!) I've just heard that Alan is to star in Tim Burton's next movie - a re-make of Alice in Wonderland apparently. He's going to play the part of the caterpillar - should be interesting!!

debjunk 2008.10.29 - 04:30PM 1: none Signed
Would have never thought that this was your first submission. It's truly beautiful. And poetry is hard to do! You have included a whole story in only a few words. And it was very heartfelt.

Author's Response: Thank you so much - you are so kind! As you're probably aware, I'm currently reading and reviewing your wonderful story so this is such an honour for me to have writers I admire offer me such encouragement. I consider it praise indeed! I'm truly grateful - thanks again!

Trickie Woo 2008.10.29 - 02:41PM 1: none Signed
Very good, it reminds of many OFC's from different stories that I've read; it could be their thoughts. Have you ever seen and old movie called 'Counterfiet Traitor' with William Holden? The story suits your poem and the story is very similar to Severus's life as a spy. Do post what you've written, I'd like to read it. One more thing, I think it's Rowling who owes her fans an apology. If Snape had to die, the least she could have done was shown him some respect and let him die fighting alongside the other Order members after publicly declaring his true allegiance.

Author's Response: Thank you Trickie Woo. I've already mentioned to star_girl what an honour it was to have her review (as a fan of her fics) and I now consider this the ultimate accolade as I think of you as the 'Queen of Reviewers'! I'm so glad you like this poem (poetry doesn't appeal to everyone) & have realised what I was trying to achieve with the thoughts of this 'uknown' lover who's expressing her (or indeed him) self! I haven't seen the movie you've mentioned but you've stirred up my curiosity now! My apology to JK by the way was due to the quality of my work only as I quite agree, as no doubt we all do, about the lack of respect she showed our poor Severus. So glad he can now live on in these fics! Thanks again - I've been overwhelmed by the response I've had from this, my first, posting!

Moira of the Mountain 2008.10.29 - 01:50PM 1: none Signed
Nicely done - do keep writing. I'm new to the site as well and I know how brave you have to be to put your first submissions out there !! I was a little terrified at first but everyone is so kind and supportive...

Author's Response: Thank you - what lovely words of encouragement! It's all a girl needs really! As you say, when everyone is so kind and supportive it really helps. Thanks again!

star_girl 2008.10.29 - 01:35PM 1: none Signed
You're very sweet! A Kind Of Magic is my first long fic, I've never written anything that long in my life! If I can do it, so can you. Don't be afraid to write short pieces though, they are lots of fun too ;-)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! Your encouragement means the world! I have in fact written a few short pieces so I may well decide to post once I've 'tidied' them up a bit first!! The poem is a bit serious really so it would be good to do a bit of humour, I think!

Rose of the West 2008.10.29 - 01:05PM 1: none Signed
Wow, that's lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing - it's always difficult with a first attempt so I'm loving hearing from everyone. I hope to be able to post a proper story soon (when I can actually find some time!)

star_girl 2008.10.29 - 01:04PM 1: none Signed
That was really, really sweet. Made me well up. Please do submit more, would love to read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. I really consider it an honour hearing from you as I'm avidly following your story 'A Kind of Magic' and am now so encouraged by this - thanks again!

morgaine_dulac 2008.10.29 - 12:59PM 1: none Signed
Oh, so I am your first reviewer! Yay! Yes, please do post some more. /M

Author's Response: Thanks again! Think I'd better wait for a few more reviews before I make any decisions but so pleased to know you'd like to see more!

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved