Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for The Measure of Mercy

ananinasnape 2011.12.20 - 06:17PM 1: 1 Signed
Wow. :) Congratulations.

Author's Response: You have me grinning with delight. This was my very first posting, anywhere, three years ago, and I'm always happy to know it's still being discovered, enjoyed, and thought worthy of comment! Thank you!

hexgirl 2010.12.29 - 12:35PM 1: 1 Signed
I can't believe I haven't read this before. A stunning piece! Simply stunning. How did you manage to give this monstrous scene such tenderness? I was left feeling happy for her, rather than bereft. What a pity there wasn't a similar angel of mercy to guide Severus in his own last moments. Thank you for this.

Author's Response: It's a joy to learn there are new readers discovering what was my very first fan fiction posting. When I read the line "only those whom I cannot save" it was gut wrenching and I could imagine his thoughts as he viewed this partciular horror. I've toyed with the idea of going back to this piece and adding a 2nd chapter centered on his own death, but since - in my world at least - he's not dead but healing in a far off Welsh valley (ahem, shameless plug for another WIP I've posted here)I've not yet acted on the idea.

Alatariel 2010.12.06 - 01:54AM 1: 1 Signed
This brought tears to my eyes. Such a better alternative to what is in the book. Well done!

Author's Response: It's such a delight to me that new readers are still discovering this small tale. This all spun out of the "those I cannot save" comment which I found devastating. I do hope you may chose to now read my other humble offerings on this site. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

alchemy 2010.09.06 - 03:25AM 1: 1 Signed
it is amazing! the story suits perfectly the original one and i do believe that severus was a good man ready to help under any circumstance...well done!

Author's Response: Wow - it's been almost a year since this particular little tale has received the honor of a review !! Delighted to know it's still being read and found worthy of comment ! Thank you - there are other tales of mine here as well for your consideration. I hope you will enjoy.

Snapesbeatrice 2009.11.06 - 12:02AM 1: 1 Signed
Such a haunting story! Poor Charity and Severus, both caught up in what they cannot prevent, and him offering the only help he can--and right under the Dark Lord's nose! He was no coward, indeed. As always with your stories, it is beautifully, lyrically written. Sigh.

Author's Response: I am always so happy to learn that there are readers still discovering and enjoying this little tale - it was my first submission to any site, some time back. Certain stories haunt you until you actually put them to paper, and this was one of those - the muse demanded my attention ! Thank you so much for such a kind review.

Andromache 2009.09.29 - 10:03AM 1: 1 Signed
Oh, I do hope the scene played out as you wrote here. I found that scene disturbing, too, and I hope it wasn't one more burden to add to his already numerous crimes.

Author's Response: I like to think he remained pragmatic out of a horrible necessity, but kept enough of his own soul intact to do what he could, when he could. I don't know how he could have kept his sanity otherwise.

Rosewood 2009.07.18 - 05:11PM 1: 1 Signed
You have managed to capture the hidden essence of Severus extremely well. I must admit to having read, and reread this story many times. Excellent work!

Author's Response: You have touched my heart by letting me know this is a story you treasure. It was the first piece I ever submitted to fan fiction and I was terrified. But I could not help but feel that Severus would have fought hard to keep the tatters of his soul together and I wanted to honor his courage.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2008.10.13 - 07:15AM 1: 1 Signed
This is really, truly wonderful. A very much missing scene to the book, too, and one you filled perfectly. I absolutely agree with you - Charity using his given name indicates that there's more to that scene than it seems. In my mind, Severus is tormented by this scene and this happening, and by her desperate plea... you gave her some solace, and some peace, and I hope he can experience some quiet of mind from this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I wanted to share this aspect of "the best of him".

morgaine_dulac 2008.09.26 - 12:18PM 1: 1 Signed
Thank you for this little piece. It was truly beautiful. /M

Author's Response: I am honored. My thanks.

etherian 2008.09.24 - 05:31AM 1: 1 Signed
Stunning. So very beautiful and sad.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Much appreciated.

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved