Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for A Kind Of Magic

Trickie Woo 2008.08.27 - 02:40PM 20: Chapter 20 Signed
We learned to shut the cats out of the bedroom at those times after the day we looked up and saw our cat precariously balanced on the headboard and posed like a vulture looking down on us with his beady eyes. In the previous chapter I wondered if she realized he was courting her in the old fashioned way, but now I know she did realize that and she wants a much more passionate courtship. I'm really interested in seeing the same thing that has piqued Sarah's interest.

Author's Response: Yep, nothing puts you off your stroke more than a cat glaring at you. It feels so wrong, like animal abuse lol. Severus meanwhile has finally taken one of her many hints that she's attracted to him (thank Merlin!) We'll definitely find out more of Sarah's history later on though. Thanks as always for the support :)

morgaine_dulac 2008.08.27 - 02:34PM 19: Chapter 19 Signed
You really thought about that wand for a while. I love it when writers do their research properly. Cheers. /M

Author's Response: Thank you so much, huge compliment! It all seemed to fit really nicely :)

Trickie Woo 2008.08.27 - 02:21PM 19: Chapter 19 Signed
I love the description of Ollivander's, I see it better in my head now than I did in the movie. Does the sign that reads: 'Ollivanderís: Makers of Fine Wands since 382 BC' also have a Royal Warrant? I imagine there must have been an occasional witch or wizard in the royal line. I gather that her wand is special because of the surge of power she fel when she picked it up and since the properties that the hazel wood and centaur hair give it seem to be tailored to her alone.

Author's Response: A very good question about being "By Appointment," and also an interesting thought about witches and wizards in the royal line. A whole other story, I'd imagine! That's right, the wand is made of a wood significant in Wiccan wand making, and also had specific meanings. For example, searching for buried treasure, well she's searching for the love buried deep within Severus. It also stands for gaining knowledge, which undoubtably she is by joining the wizard world. The centaur hair and divinatory aspect seemed to fit too. Also, the wood is pale, and Severus has a black wand, so they are like Yin and Yang :)

Rose of the West 2008.08.27 - 02:02PM 20: Chapter 20 Signed
Really cute story! This chapter is so sweet and homey that you can see the characters having a future together. Did you intend a "slash" warning? It seems like I saw one for this chapter.

Author's Response: Oops, I thought slash was a shorthand for sex in general, not gay sex! My mistake, I am still new to this fan fiction malarkey! Thanks for taking the time to read and review.

Trickie Woo 2008.08.25 - 05:42PM 18: Chapter 18 Signed
Your description of Jasmine's reminds me very much of Haussener's,an old Baltimore tradition which to everyone's sorrow closed in 1999 and actioned off their art collection for millions of dollars. It's now a culinary school, but I still miss the restaurant. It was like dining in the middle of a museum and art gallery and the food, which was traditional Baltimore and traditional Maryland style cooking, was superb. I'd love to try that wine, it sounds like an eis wine, but it's red and not white. I hate dry wines, so this one sounds like it's just up my alley. The black cherry and chocolate make it sound like a Schwatzwalder Kirschtorte. I like that it's sex in drink form too. Severus is an epicure, like me. He can also claim be the very well bred gentleman, even more so than Lucius can in spite of his divergent bloodline. Wish I could go to lunch with him.

Author's Response: Haussener's sounds amazing! The decor in Jasmine's is definitely supposed to be opulent, with rich artifacts from all around the world reflecting the diverse menu. And at ten galleons for a main and 2 glasses of fine wine, not cheap either!

morgaine_dulac 2008.08.25 - 03:29PM 18: Chapter 18 Signed
Of course I am still reading. It's an adorable story and shows Severus in such a good light. He knew the guy had manners ;-) Cheers. /M

Author's Response: Thank you! He always had manners, he was just selective about who he showed them to! hehe. I love the thought of him being a chivalrous gentleman to the woman he loves.

libertyelyot 2008.08.25 - 02:58PM 1: Chapter 1 Signed
Just started reading this - already very interested. I'm sure there must be fics around which refer to Wicca, but this is the first one I've seen.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I hope you enjoy it!

Trickie Woo 2008.08.21 - 01:28PM 17: Chapter 17 Signed
I think he showed just as much, if not even more courage than he showed during his time as a spy when he admitted to her that he had the same feelings as she does, but he just couldn't put them in words. This time it was his future, and not the future of the whole wizarding world that was at stake, he had never been allowed to contemplate a future before and it's an even bigger risk to him and a bigger unknown than his time as a double agent was. For once, Dumbledore gave some good and well meant advice when he told her not to push him, to let Severus tell her about his past in his own time. I don't think she made a mistake telling him she loved him like that and then reiterating it to see if he heard her; his response reminded her of what Dumbledore had said and showed her exactly what path to trod through the minefield of his emotions. He was a master Occlumens, the best in the world, and he is an expert at keeping his emotions closed down, he needs time and encourament to open up to be able to put what he feels in words.

Author's Response: So glad you're interpreting it in the way it's intended, and so glad you're still enjoying it enough to read and review. X

morgaine_dulac 2008.08.21 - 11:49AM 17: Chapter 17 Signed
The whole 'Iím afraid...' part was simply wonderful. Of course he's afraid, poor man. Thanks for sharing. I'm enjoying this immensely. /M

Author's Response: Thank you so much, he's so fragile underneath it all. So glad you're still reading :-) x

Trickie Woo 2008.08.20 - 02:27PM 16: Chapter 16 Signed
I'd much prefer 'The Great Rite' myself; the picture I have in my head of those women 'riding' their brooms looks very painful, to say thre least. Well, now she knows the true basis of their relationship and he knows where he stands with her. He must pursue that relationship and court her, it's not as if she will give him any difficulty in his courtship. She loves him and she makes him laugh, what more could he ask for? I hope you continue the next chapter where you left off and they complete that kiss and maybe a little (or a lot) more.

Author's Response: There may be a slight wait for the next chapter - I'm away for a few days, but I'll have a pen and pad with me to scribble as I travel, hopefully to post quickly when I get back :)

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved