Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for A Kind Of Magic

morgaine_dulac 2008.09.14 - 04:46AM 28: Chapter 28 Signed
Severus really is a self-fulfilling prophecy, isn't he? So convinced that no one can love him. Hopefully, the two will use their brains when they see each other the next time, and talk. Thank you for yet another great chapter. /M

Author's Response: I love that he can be so fierce and so fragile simultaneously. Glad you're still reading :)

Trickie Woo 2008.09.13 - 05:51PM 28: Chapter 28 Signed
I hope they at least try to talk to each other before the term begins. I think Sarah is open to listen to what she couldn't have even considered listening to the night before. But Severus, with his insecurity and attitude about himself, is another matter altogether. They need a mediator.

Author's Response: They both still love each other, and that's a start...

Rose of the West 2008.09.13 - 03:21PM 28: Chapter 28 Signed
So sad for them both! They need to process it, though.

Author's Response: It's an awful situation. Thanks for sticking with it :)

sevvy 2008.09.12 - 03:59AM 27: Chapter 27 Signed
This story is shaping up really well. I'm sure that there are going to be many more 'twists and turns' yet! I can't wait for the next chapters as I feel sure Sarah will soon get things into context about Severus and their true feelings for each other will resurface. (I'm a great believer in 'true love conquering all'!!) Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review! It's not going to be easy for them, but then again, anything that's truly worth having never is. Will be writing like a demon this weekend :)

Trickie Woo 2008.09.11 - 02:15PM 27: Chapter 27 Signed
Sarah is as bad as Harry Potter, her only excuse is ignorance. Harry didn't have that excuse, he knew what a pensieve was and what it held. Why didn't she hear what Severus had whispered in the woman's ear, was that only in Severus's head? It's her own fault, I learned a long, long time ago to never mess with something I knew nothing about, especially if that thing was someone else's private property. There is no property more private than a person's memories, especially the tormented ones and she did most grieviously invade his most private thoughts. He is able to do that to her with legillimency, but he hasn't done that so far. Will he? I'm looking forward to makeup sex with a jumbo dose of smut somewhere in the next couple of chapters.

Author's Response: She didnt hear because of the men jeering... This is gonna be hard for them both. Again, trust me on this!

Rose of the West 2008.09.11 - 12:54PM 27: Chapter 27 Signed
She had to find out, and being so curious she would have to find out the hard way. Surely she will put it in context?

Author's Response: Let's hope Severus doesn't go into full on lock-out...

morgaine_dulac 2008.09.11 - 11:33AM 27: Chapter 27 Signed
Oh no! I was prepared that she would find out about his past eventually, but this was just brutal! Don't really now who I feel most sorry for. Very much looking forward to the next chapter. /M

Author's Response: Thank you! All I can say is trust me :-)

libertyelyot 2008.09.07 - 03:42PM 11: Chapter 11 Signed
(At 11)"Such tender ferocity from such an austere man" - yes, exactly; that's the draw with Snape, well put. Imagining him with Rosmerta made me giggle too. Ha, I knew there would be wizarding blood in there somewhere. This is great - so much better than starting with a random adult witch turning up at Hogwarts, as so many do.

Author's Response: Thank you! Am happy you're continuing to stick with it, and enjoy it enough to review :)

morgaine_dulac 2008.09.06 - 05:14PM 26: Chapter 26 Signed
That is exactly why I have always felt sorry for Severus. He really never had a choice. Thanks for this chapter. /M

Author's Response: Thank you, so glad you enjoyed it :)

Trickie Woo 2008.09.06 - 03:36PM 26: Chapter 26 Signed
I'm glad Sarah didn't surprise him while he was in the pensieve. He was a victim just as much as the woman was, now that he has faced this memory he should destroy it. Nobody should have to face the memories that depict their victimization day after day. The perpetrators who caused the situation are another matter, they should have been called to account for all of it but they are all dead. In Severus's case it was 'He Who I Find Most Tedious & Tiresome' and Dumbledore who were the ultimate cause of whatever he had to do as a DE and a spy. His father and the Marauders share some of the blame too. Unlike most evildoers, Severus had no choice in the matter; he was forced to do his master's will, whichever master it was all because he was lured into the bad choice of joining the Death Eaters. When he joined the Death Eaters I'm sure he had no idea that he would ever be required to do those things, He was recruited just like the Hitler Youth were before the war, with the promise of a better future and being a part of the group that held the power. And just as those young people had no idea of what Hitler really was, he had no idea of how sick and psychotic 'HW's ideas and methods were until it was too late and 'HW' already owned him, body and, 'HW' thought, soul. If Dumbledore had cared enough to advise him during his school years he could have turned him away from 'HW', but I don't believe that Dumbledore cared enough for Severus's soul to be bothered to do that. What I do think is possible though, is that DD saw that Severus might come to him in the future to be rescued and he held that card in reserve to be used to achieve his own ends if and when that happened. The real guilt for all of this lies in the hands of those who cannot be punished for it because they are dead; mostly with Dumbledore and 'He Who I Find Most Tedious & Tiresome'. With the Marauders and his father as secondary to them in blame, they must share in the guilt too. Severus is responsible for his choice to be a mean and nasty git and for his harsh methods of teaching. His teaching methods are effective in making his students respect him and in instilling a knowledge of potions and how dangerous they can be into his students, they wouldn't dare not learn. Even Neville made it through OWLS with Hermione's help. I've had a few teachers like that and they are the ones I remember best and who I learned the most from.

Author's Response: I had a maths teacher who was a dragon after I got moved down from the top set for messing about; I hated maths as it was never an intuitive subject for me and it would take me five times longer to achieve anything. She put the fear of God into me through her draconian teaching style, and I ended up getting a B in my GCSE because of her. It's ironic really, because if I'd stayed in the top set with a lax teacher I would have been sure to have failed, or have received the English educational system's equivilent of a "T" for troll! :) Re: Dumbledore and blame, I always think that short passage where Snape asks Dumbledore for his help in protecting Lily shows so much. When he asks, "Anything?" I think he made Snape take an Unbreakable Vow to hold his word and thus control him further. It also shows Dumbledore is no kindly old man all of the time; indeed, he seems almost fierce. Plenty more twists and turns ahead yet! Thanks as always for your support x

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved