Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for The Unconditional Vow

star_girl 2009.11.03 - 01:49PM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
Congratulations on the completion of your story. I enjoy your writing very much, and I really admire your skillful way of weaving canon into your own story arc. You've done it wonderfully. And thank you for giving Severus peace, and a true soul mate. I am sad this story is over, yet happy that it's resolved and that Severus has been given the peace in death that he rarely had in life. Thank you again for sharing this beautiful story.

Author's Response: Thank you, star_girl, itís been my pleasure to share the story with you. I greatly appreciate your comments about interweaving canon Ė it has been a mighty challenge and required a lot of ingenuity and forward-planning. To be honest, at times it has been exhausting, and I donít expect Iíll feel the need to do it again anytime soon! Iím glad you have a sense of Severusís new-found peace; that was all Iíd ever wanted to offer him.

star_girl 2009.11.03 - 01:45PM 69: Weeping Willow Signed
Oh, how blissful. Just the two of them, under the dappled light of the trees, stealing some time away form the madness. Beautiful.

Author's Response: I'm sure I don't need to tell you how much I enjoyed writing this little oasis!

star_girl 2009.11.03 - 01:44PM 68: Love and Loss Signed
Poor Tess. She feels like she has lost everything. And we can well understand her outrage at Dumbledore.

Author's Response: Yep, Dumbledore certainly got it, didn't he? Was the absence of Snape's portrait down to him, though? I think not. But his meddling fingers have to take some responsibility!

star_girl 2009.11.03 - 01:43PM 67: Despair and Hope Signed
This must have been a very difficult chapter to write, such a harrowing scene, but you handled it very tenderly. Well done.

Author's Response: It was a harrowing chapter to write, and I felt drained and empty afterwards. I'm glad some tenderness came through; it's a sign that I applied that tenderness to myself during the writing process. Your praise is much appreciated.

star_girl 2009.11.03 - 01:41PM 66: Eye of the Beast Signed
What a fantastic chapter. You skillfully weaved canon in here so beautifully, yet retaining the essence of your story. And Severus is, surely, at peace now. Poor Tess, how will she cope now?

Author's Response: Thank you. This was probably the most challenging canon scene to write from Severus's POV. I struggled with the wandlore, but luckily my beta-readers came up trumps on that one. I'm pleased you had a sense of Severus's peace. As for Tess, read on...

star_girl 2009.11.03 - 01:39PM 65: Into The Fray Signed
Let me first start by saying I am so glad the last group of chapters got posted together. The suspense would have killed me otherwise! The scene with Minerva was terrific. Straight on to the next for me...

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're glad! And the scene with Minerva was, again, easy enough to write, because JKR gave me so many clues.

June W 2009.11.03 - 06:39AM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
PS - I am guessing that this is an "open ended" ending, in that it's POSSIBLE for Severus to return to life and live with Tess yet still be DH-epilogue-compliant. Yes/no?

Author's Response: I would like to leave it for the reader to decide, but I would say that yes, it is *possible* for Severus to return and for the story to still be compliant with the DH epilogue. In the epilogue, Harry speaks of Severus in a past tense, but he would probably do this anyway. If Severus were to return, I donít see him spending time with Harry.

June W 2009.11.03 - 06:35AM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
Wow! First off, thank you for writing and finishing this story, sharing it with us Snape-fans. And thank you for healing Severus' soul and then letting him choose what comes next -- hopefully a happy future with Tess, but regardless, SEVERUS gets to determine his future. I also appreciate that he was not truly alone, that he had Tess to help him survive a most brutal time. Thank you again for this tremendous story!

Author's Response: June, you are very welcome, and thank you for reviewing. Iím glad you appreciate the power of choice being given back to Severus. I think heís now empowered enough to take it and use it wisely.

sevvy 2009.11.03 - 03:45AM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
I think the conclusion to this story is a great advocate for the power of love -the greatest power of all in my opinion! Whilst I can't help in some ways concurring with what Rose of the West has said (I too found the 'will they/won't they' stuff quite frustrating at times!), I think you have done an amazing job of being canon compliant & of offering the 'closure' that JKR didn't. I'm not sure that Severus would chose to return to life were it possible (even if it meant being with Tess); I think it would be very difficult to face those who had, in effect, betrayed him (i.e. not believed him & even hated him because they were unaware of his true allegiance.) Then again, I'm guessing it would be difficult for Tess to just 'visit' him whilst still remaining in the real world. (And which of us in our rights minds wouldn't want to do that?! Severus, a picnic basket & a rug at the side of the river sounds like heaven!!) I actually think you've given the reader quite a hard time in trying to work that one out! However, none of this takes away the fact that this has been an excellent story and well written. As I have said before, it has been a joy to read something without gratuitous violence, sex, language etc. I have personally always seen Severus Snape as a sort of tragic hero - a Heathcliffe type, if you like -and his death only ever enforced that feeling for me personally. After all, in the great works of literature, the memorable, poignant stories are invaribly the tragic ones! But, where your story differs from that of JKR's, is that it offers hope - something we all desperately need - and the thought that there is perhaps more than just this earthly life in which to gain justice. For this alone, I'd like to offer a grateful thank you. (And now I must go and eat some breakfast ...!) :-)

Author's Response: Sevvy, thanks so much for your reviews and your gracious comments about the story. I know that sexual tension isnít for everyone, but Iím glad you saw it through to the end. I suppose the readerís decision over whether or not Severus would choose to return to this mortal coil depends upon the readerís perception of his character, and the growth heís achieved during this journey. You seem to be having a hard time deciding which path he would take, whereas others might know it instinctively, impose wish-fulfilment, or simply feel rudderless. I knew I was taking a risk in leaving the conclusion open to interpretation, but I felt it was a risk worth taking. Iím glad you found both hope and closure in my story, and in response to your offering of thanks... You are most welcome!

sevsbird 2009.11.03 - 03:15AM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
I have signed up to the site just so that I can leave a review. I have to admit that I have been a bit of a lurker on here, and never got aroind to reviewing. I had to tell you though how much I have loved your story. You had me hooked from the beginning and I stayed with it even though I knew the end was going to be difficult to read. Thankyou so much for such a great story, I love the ending as it gives me hope for them both. I like to think t5hat severus would chose life with tess, and that the future for them is rosy. The antihorcrux idea is wonderful and really fits in with the harry potter world created by jkr. I too hope to read more and would love to know what happens to Tess and severus in the future. ay thoughts on a sequel?

Author's Response: Lurkers are always welcome, sevsbird, especially if they eventually leave a review! Iím pleased you liked my anti-Horcrux idea, and that youíve already envisaged Severus and Tessís future. You asked about a sequel. Well, thereís nothing planned at the moment, but Iíll never say never. I can, however, tell you that Iíve constructed their (detailed) future in my head, as a way of working through my own ending process. I donít know if it will become a fully-realised story, though. Thank you so much for reviewing.

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved