Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for The Unconditional Vow

Alatariel 2010.11.09 - 04:50PM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
I know it's been a while since this story was completed, but I wanted to leave you a review anyways. I stumbled across this story looking for a canon-compliant Severus POV of DH. Even though I HATE what happens to Severus in the end, (I skip over it when I read DH, in my world, he's still very much alive) I had hoped to find a story that gave him peace. I am so happy that I found this fic, you were able to give him the love, forgiveness and peace that he so very much deserves, and in doing so, you gave me a sense of peace. I thank you for that. I loved your end for Severus much better then the one JKR gave him. This has been one of the best fanfics I've ever read, such an amazing story. I was moved to tears several times. The way you kept to canon, filling in little details, and weaving in your own story, made this a truly enjoyable read. You write very well! I love your character development, loved watching the relationship of Tess and Severus change and grow. I really like Contessa, she is a good match for Severus. And beloved Severus: I was so pleased to see him kept canon! I always knew that if Severus could let go of Lily and forgive himself, he would be able to love again. I loved how you did the end; it's sort of up to the reader to decide what Severus chooses isn't it? Thank you for writing this! I'm going to go look up your other stories. Cheers!

Author's Response: Alatariel, thank you so much for this tremendous review! Itís never too late to leave feedback, and Iím delighted that you took the time to leave your thoughts and feelings at the end of this journey. The sense of peace you gained from The Unconditional Vow is the same sense of peace I yearned for at the end of The Deathly Hallows. I could not rest and I could not grieve until I had processed Severusís story and given him a worthy ending. Keeping Severus as canon as possible was a challenge, and Iím glad you feel this was achieved. And yes, it is up to the reader to decide what Severus chooses. I have my own ideas which may end up in a sequel someday! I send my deepest gratitude to you for sharing your heartfelt experience of my story :)

blyy 2010.01.06 - 12:37PM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
Thank you for writing and sharing this wonderful story! It's been a very enjoyable read, so very beautifully written. I would love to see a sequel for this, are you planning to write one?

Author's Response: Possibly. I'll never say 'never'. At the moment I'm exploring Severus's history before Tess, and this may help me to prepare a sequel; I think of all my stories as compliant with canon, and also with each other. Thank you for your generous words, and I'm so pleased you've enjoyed reading :-)

johnbly341 2009.12.04 - 10:43PM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
Ah, finally, a satisfying ending to lighten the sadness of canon. Thank you so much for your wonderful story. It was intelligently plotted and beautifully told throughout.

Author's Response: It's always nice to know that readers who have left reviews in the past have made it to the end of the story! I'm chuffed that you found the ending satisfying, and thanks so much for your kind words.

laetitichat 2009.11.30 - 05:17PM 38: Signs and Portents Signed
The last 3 chapters were really skillfully written. His pain is like a hurrican, so violent. But even the worst of the storm must stop on day. Tess is a little like a ray of light. Slowly but surely, she penetrate Severus' dark world. Will he accept her light ? Your grave scene is so poignant, so realistic, so in tune with Severus character - or at least the picture I have of him in my head.

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving a review. The graveside scene was one of my favourite chapters to write; it was such a privilege to explore Severus's grief and pain. What will happen when Tess's light reaches him...? Keep reading, and find out!

amalyn 2009.11.26 - 05:52PM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
This was incredibly gorgeous. Long, and my problem is that I tend to not be able to put things down once I start - so a day and part of another I was glued to my screen. The last chapter - just such sad-happy-sad tears filling my eyes. Your writing is lush and wonderful, and the combination of hope and despair, of finding love only realized in the moment of death --- and then the possibility of perhaps being able to restore to life anew... Just incredibly beautiful, and well-written, and lovely. I look forward to reading more of your stories.

Author's Response: Thank you for this incredible review! I'm elated that my writing compelled you to read the entire story in two sittings, and that your emotional response was so powerful. This review had me reaching for the tissues... in a good way! Thank you.

angelina 2009.11.11 - 02:02PM 34: The Missing Piece Signed
I feel so fortunate to have stumbled onto this story. I discovered it last summer, and eagerly awaited each installment. I loved the insight into Snape's character, and the creation of Tess. Thank you very much.

Author's Response: Hi Angelina, thanks for leaving a review! I hope you make it through to the end!

greenwood 2009.11.09 - 12:27AM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
Oh man this is such a good ending. I can't wait to find out what his decision will be. Which every way the story goes it will be romantic. I can't wait to find out.

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews, greenwood, and I'm glad you liked the ending. You're the one who gets to decide where they go from here...

greenwood 2009.11.08 - 11:58PM 66: Eye of the Beast Signed
Oh poor Severus. Again he must die. At least he is free of Lily and seems to be in a good place...

Author's Response: Hopefully a better death, this time around....

LadySeverus 2009.11.07 - 04:51PM 70: Sleeping in Light Signed
I've followed this story from start to finish and have loved seeing how the relationship between Tess and Severus played out. Think about how the story began when he first came to Squirrel's Leap to how they ended up and you can really see how their relationship has flourished and blossomed and how much Severus unfolded little by little. Knowing him as we do, this would not be something that would happen overnight! I actually agree with Dumbledore, I am not sure if he would ever love anyone again after Lily but I am certainly glad he did in your story and that you have him closure and the ability to finally forgive himself. You created a great character with Tess. I can totally imagine her being a part of canon, even down to her name of Contessa. I think this is also because you have obviously spent a great deal of time weaving your story carefully in with canon events. Bravo on that, it's not easy. As for the ending, it was in not as bad as I thought it was going to be. I love how you used the rings and kept them as a theme throughout. It was very clever of you to use his ring as a way for Tess to see him again in his version of "King's Cross." I like the ending, it keeps us all wondering and forming our theories about what his choice will be. As this is Snape, it's very fitting for him to keep us all guessing. Great story Agnus Castus. Loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you, dear Lady, for your reviews. I'm glad you felt Tess fitted in well with canon - I have to say that I loved the rhyme of 'Contessa' with 'Griselda'... it just seemed to fit. And Griselda had all the attributes that I wanted my younger OFC to have. You're right - it's not easy being canon-compliant - but it's certainly given me something to think about when stuck at red traffic lights on my way to work! I used the canon events as a scaffold for my story, so that they didn't get in the way, and tried to progress my characters in line with the events. A bit like ivy growing up a trellis. Sometimes I hated the trellis, and sometimes I was comforted by its existence. I'm genuinely over the moon that you liked the ending - I think the reader earned it!

LadySeverus 2009.11.07 - 03:57PM 69: Weeping Willow Signed
Yesssss! There is hope.

Author's Response: Always.

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved