Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for To Make the Heart Grow Fonder

Jong_Kahn 2010.09.23 - 11:12PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
What a golden story! You portrayed both Severus' and Lily's feelings better and more economically than many other writers have, including Rowling. Very well done. I'm favoriting this. Thank you!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for the lovely review! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the story and honored that you considered it worthy of a favorite. This was one of the very first stories I ever wrote, shortly after DH came out, and it was my attempt to make Lily and Snape make cohesive emotional sense, without laying particular blame for the fracture of their relationship on either of them. So thank you for taking the time to read it and review it!

digitaljungle80 2008.02.06 - 03:38AM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
There have been several eloquent reviews that best express how this story is so moving and incredibly well-written. So I will just contribute the words that flew out of my mouth when I was done reading: Damn, that's good!

Author's Response: ~blushes~ Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. :-)

potionmistress60 2008.01.28 - 10:00AM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
A one chapter fic that is quite powerful. I like how you have Severus battle with his love for Lily and what is moral. Here he has the "answer" to his one of his deepest desires at his finger tips, one that he believes will turn his dismal life around. He, however, choses to take the hard but morally right path, sacrificing his happiness for another. I love the ending where Lily unknowingly lets Severus in on her desire. Poor guy!

Author's Response: Thank you for the thoughtful review! I'm glad that connected with Severus' internal struggle and the choice that he made. But yes, you're right: even when he does the right thing, nothing seems to work out for him! I like to think that he had a more fortunate opportunity later in life.

LogicalQuirk 2007.12.11 - 12:57PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
Poor Severus! It's very foreshadowing of the revelations at the end of the series; his motives were selfish but ultimately driven by love for Lily, and he made the 'right' choice in the end. By the way, I loved that you quoted from Hermione's book! *squee*

Author's Response: Thank you for the squee! I'm very flattered. :-) Re: Severus' selfishness--yes, I see this as something that he struggles with. To a large extent it's not his fault, because I see it as stemming from his deprived childhood; he's never had anything good, so can't stand the idea of losing what he wants most. Even so, as in DH, he has enough innate decency to fid the right path, and ultimately, his love for Lily (in a pure, non-romantic sense) is stronger than that selfish instinct.

JamesandLily4ever 2007.12.10 - 04:42PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
Aw... poor Sev. Oh well, I'm all for Sev/OC! Then again... it must have felt very bad having to have seen your school sweetheart smelling another boy out of one of the strongest love potions... 10/10 for the marvellous one-shot, dude! ~Meli♥ P/s: I feel you, Sev, I feel you. :(

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, poor Severus needs all the sympathy he can get, poor thing.

trixee 2007.12.05 - 04:22PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
I really like this story because of the mix of the dry scientific potion text and the sensual descriptions of the sights and smells Sev experiences when confronted with Lily. It's not weighed down with a bunch of overkill either - it's just a perfect little jewel. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it. It was great fun to come up with those scents and work them into the story.

testingt 2007.11.27 - 05:00PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
There are stories I read & don't enjoy, stories I read & enjoy, and stories I reread. Third time on this one. Virtue really is its own punishment, eh? I love the way he lies to himself at first (both about his original motivations in brewing it and later about whether what he'd get would be worth it), his last-minute repentance (at least this one wasn't post-last-minute), and the immediacy of the crash when he forces himself to do the right thing. Ouch! Thank you.

Author's Response: Wow, thank *you*! I'm terribly flattered that you liked the story enough to reread it, because I know that I do that same to my favorites. That's a great compliment. Unfortunately, virtue doesn't bring Severus the rewards that it should. I feel a bit guilty about putting him through the wringer, but I just couldn't see how this relationship could have ended happily.

handpfeather 2007.11.22 - 07:16PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Anonymous
I've got to say, you really had me with that Lily smelling biscuits and Potter from the Potion. Oh - so sad! The truth hurts, doesn't it? Great story! ~H

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, the truth is really painful here, even though Lily's not trying to hurt Severus. Poor lad!

firefly124 2007.11.19 - 08:24PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
Achingly sweet and sad. I love how you built up his resolve to give her the Amortentia, the moment he realized it wouldn't be worth it, and then that horrible moment of realizing he won't have her.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hated to give Severus such a sad reward for doing the right thing, but it had to be done.

MajesticJester 2007.11.12 - 03:43PM 1: To Make the Heart Grow Fonder Signed
Achingly beautiful. The bittersweetness of it all is perfect, like a refined dark chocolate - melting on the tongue and linger long after the treat is gone. You have kept true to the spirit of Severus, I think, and I applaude you for it. Bravo.

Author's Response: ~blushes~ Thank you for such lovely compliments! I'm so glad that you liked it and found it true to Severus. More than anything, that was my aim, so it makes me very happy to hear that you think I met it.

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved