Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Snape's Portrait

Nicole 2007.10.07 - 03:45PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Loved it. Don't tend to leave reviews although I read just about everything. Thought that you captured the characters really well, the dialogue was great and the idea was priceless. Will be checking out anything else you've done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I don't tend to leave reviews either... although I might start doing so now because I'm so grateful for the reviews people have left me. It's really encouraging. This was my first fanfic but I'm working on some more stuff now, so watch this space!

GMonkey 2007.10.07 - 11:36AM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Snape is so perfectly in-character. I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you :-)

Pookah 2007.10.07 - 03:27AM 1: One-shot Signed
Astonishingly good! I love this story! Tou have kept Snape in character, and I feel Harry was perfectly realistic as well. Supurb characterization. I forgot I was reading fanfiction. I really did! Please forgive the exclamation marks. If I were telling this to you in person I'd be dancing around the room. I got quite teary-eyed, which I rarely do. I was afraid when you got to decribing the letter and pictures, that it was going to ruin what had been a perfect, PERFECT, story until then. But rather like Charles Dickens in Christmas Carol, you managed sentiment without making it disgusting. Thank you for sharing this gem of a tale.

Author's Response: Thank you, I am so flattered. If you almost forgot you were reading fanfiction, that's basically the greatest compliment you could have paid me. I'm dead chuffed.

a_bees_buzz 2007.10.06 - 09:34PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
I'm not fond of the idea that Severus never moved past the lost love of his teen-aged years, but you took the canon version of Severus and gave him real depth and feeling. And I love your take on the lives of magical portraits. This is a beautifully written piece that really touches the heart.

Author's Response: Thank you, that's really kind of you. I have mixed feelings myself about Snape's love for Lily... and I might well write some more stories, AU stuff, in which he has definitely moved on... so watch this space! ;-)

marilyn 2007.10.06 - 11:03AM 1: One-shot Anonymous
that is really marvellous, you portraited Snape just as I would have imagined him, very snarky and very amusing, and it made me fall for him once more, it was also nice to see the change in Harry towards Snape, and the slight consensus they found - really very enjoyable

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I wanted Snape to be as sarcastic and dry as ever, and I also wanted to show that Harry had matured somewhat, so I really hope that came across.

christabel 2007.10.06 - 10:34AM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Wonderfully moving, thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you - glad you liked it :-)

Pearl Took 2007.10.06 - 06:46AM 1: One-shot Signed
This is absolutely wonderful. I throw rose-petals at your feet! What an emotionally satisfying read: you understand both these characters so well. (And I loved that glimpse of Hermione: wise girl, she always tried to tell Harry to look past his natural prejudices when it came to Snape!) I loved DH and have no real beef with it, but I do wish that Rowling had given Harry and Snape at least the beginnings of emotional closure (as difficult as that process would be) before poor Sev got hit with Nagini. He's never going to throw Harry's letter and Al Sev's photo in the fire, is he? *smile*

Author's Response: All rose petals gratefully received! And glad you liked the Hermione reference too - I'm planning to write something featuring Hermione at some point. And no, Snape will never throw that photo in the fire... he'll probably almost never actually look at it, and every time he finds it in his pocket he'll probably roll his eyes and mutter some cutting about it in order to maintain his irritable persona, but he will never bring himself to throw it away. :-)

reborn in never land 2007.10.06 - 05:12AM 1: One-shot Signed
This is definitely my favourite fic on this website. You've depicted the characters so accurately that it won't seem unsuitable to put it in DH as an epilogue. I'm really delighted to see that Harry and Severus finally came to understand each other. It's very touching, especially for the three photos given by Harry and Snape's decision to keep the letter. Very well written. I gather you put a lot of effort in the conversation and the description. Do you intend to write some other stories? I'm looking forward to that!

Author's Response: Thanks very much - I'm very flattered! :-) I do intend to write more stories soon - I have some more ideas about Snape's and Dumbledore's portraits and I want to write something featuring Hermione too. Everyone's reviews have been very encouraging and inspiring!

kittylefish 2007.10.06 - 04:01AM 1: One-shot Signed
i loved this story, but fear i have nothing new to add. i.e., the characters rang very true, it was very satisfying to see this rapprochement (sp?) between these two characters, loved the moment when severus decides to hold off on burning the letter & photo. and nice to imagine him having a little bit happier ever after with his pictures of his love. thanks for giving this reader some closure.

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your kind words. Glad it gave you some closure... it gave me some closure too! Basically I couldn't rest until I'd written it...

June W 2007.10.06 - 12:55AM 1: One-shot Signed
Oh, this is absolutely lovely! I really like the patch of painting that Harry added - it's exactly what portrait-Snape would enjoy, reminders of him with Lily before things went badly for them. I like that you showed Severus thinking of burning Harry's letter and the pic of his namesake, but eventually deciding to not burn his namesake's pic. Thanks so much for sharing this fic with us!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really glad you enjoyed it. All these positive reviews are very encouraging!

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved