Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Snape's Portrait

Sylvana 2007.10.11 - 06:23AM 1: One-shot Signed
I don't know if I can leave a second review... can't respond to your reply otherwise. You wrote Severus so very in character, and Harry has matured in a way I would love to see him mature (but didn't see it in canon). They should not like, but accept, make peace with each other, and you wrote that beautifully. What teared me up were the pictures, because they once again illustrate how very alone and miserable Severus' life was.

Author's Response: Thanks very much - your feedback is v encouraging.

Sylvana 2007.10.11 - 04:08AM 1: One-shot Signed
That was beautiful and teared me up as well. I so wanted to see some kind of understanding between Severus and Harry and just wish this could have been a canon scene with a living Severus, and not his portrait. Thank you for giving us some closure here.

Author's Response: Thank you - still can't believe that my writing has made people cry! Hope it was for the right reasons ;-) I didn't want Harry and Snape to like each other, but just to have a degree of understanding for one another, so I hope that came across.

scarlet_dancer 2007.10.10 - 09:57PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
This was a truly beautiful story. I actually feel like I've been given a bit of closure, and for that I thank you. :) Severus finally finding peace is an amazing and wonderful thing. I'll be spreading the news about this. Great job, and thanks again! ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks very much. You can't beat anice bit of closure, eh? :-)

Sempra 2007.10.10 - 05:49PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
This is a beautifully written piece, quite remarkable. A fitting conclusion to Severus’ story. It really brings a lump to your throat, especially when Severus is looking at Lily’s photographs. To be forever mourning the loss of the person you love is a terrible fate. I liked how you explained how the portraits work, with layers of paint and an additional patch for the letter. Very clever.

Author's Response: Thanks very much; I'm glad you liked it. I'm fascinated by the concept of the portraits...

Author's Response: Thanks very much; I'm glad you liked it. I'm fascinated by the concept of the portraits...

melusin 2007.10.10 - 01:12PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Thanks for writing a scene where Harry apologies for sticking his nose in where it didn't belong - it was something I was hoping to see in the final book, but was disappointed in that like so many other things. A very moving piece - thanks for writing

Author's Response: Thanks very much; I'm glad you liked it. I too always wanted Harry to say sorry for his behaviour in his Occlumency lessons so I had to get that in!

MollysSister 2007.10.10 - 12:38PM 1: One-shot Signed
I have tears in my eyes. You are ruining my eye make up! Thank you for giving Snape peace. I much admire a grown up/mature Harry. His thoughtful gesture was truly enlightened. This is going to be a favorite story of mine for years to come. Thank you again.

Author's Response: Ah, sorry about the eye make-up! But glad you enjoyed the story :-)

emerald124 2007.10.10 - 01:05AM 1: One-shot Signed
Just have to say - very, very well written character of Snape. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I really wanted to keep Snape in character, so that's great for me to hear.

beaweasley2 2007.10.09 - 04:02PM 1: One-shot Signed
Oh, My Gosh! This is such a moving and sensitive piece. Beautifully written and expresses a great deal of emotion and passion. I really love how mature Harry is portrayed and the depth you gave to Severus’s character is very rewarding to read. It’s cute that Harry falls back into the old habits with is former professor, and the ranges of emotions they share while reminiscing seem very real – probable. I’m definitely going to add this one to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your review; I'm so glad you liked the story!

GryffKat 2007.10.09 - 01:31PM 1: One-shot Signed
Wow, this is a powerful piece of fiction. It is a truly outstanding work. Congratulations don’t seem to be enough. I was trolling the “recently added” stories and came across Snape’s Portrait. It sounded a bit simple for my usual tastes. I don't generally read one-shots. I did on this one and boy, was I rewarded. It is very well written, emotional and moving, in a snarky sort of way. But, it is not funny. It is sad and dark and redeeming. The redemption is for Harry. The sadness is that Severus will never truly have his redemption, mostly because he won’t allow it for himself. I really appreciated how you moved from emotional exchanges to somewhat humorous exchanges. I say somewhat humorous because this story is tinged with sadness, yet it is not maudlin. Here is what I think this is a striking example of some of your great writing in this piece. “In his head, Harry almost heard the awful, chilling cries of anguish that Snape had given when he heard of Lily Potter's death, a horribly affecting mixture of crippling grief and ferocious anger. Somewhere in Snape's damaged soul, Harry knew, it was a sound he had never really stopped making." I felt your tone, along with the dialogue of Harry and Severus sharing reminiscences of Hogwarts and the shared events and people in their lives, along with the sharing of their separate memories, built the story to the point, well, where I just fell to weeping by the end. And I am NOT a crier! The closing scene with Severus reading Harry’s letter was extremely well crafted and entirely believable. The small details are what make this story sing. Once more, congratulations on a great piece of writing. I will always remember it and will read it again, with a box of tissues handy. Regards, Kat (aka GryffKat)

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your kind words - I am SO flattered! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I'm particularly glad you found it sad but not maudlin, as I was definitely trying to avoid being too maudlin. Can't believe I have made people cry! Hope that's a good thing rather than a bad thing... :-)

firefly124 2007.10.09 - 12:59PM 1: One-shot Signed
Very well done. You had me tearing up at several points.

Author's Response: Thanks very much - don't cry too much :-)

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved