Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Snape's Portrait

trekker2002 2007.10.25 - 03:33PM 1: One-shot Signed
That was so good. Thank you. Definitely needed tissues here. I still haven't forgiven JKR for killing him but stories like this have made it a bit easier to bear.

Author's Response: Haha, I feel your pain regarding the death of Snape! Glad to have eased the agony for you. Thanks for the positive review!

kimjo2 2007.10.22 - 06:40PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
thank you for such a lovely story. even though i'd like to forget most of DH i still enjoyed this very much and had to resort to my hanky!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I am amazed at how many people have cried...! :-)

MajesticJester 2007.10.22 - 03:07PM 1: One-shot Signed
It was tremendously bittersweet. You capture Harry's and Severus' characters quite well. Your protrayal of Severus is by far the more fetching, as you stay true to all that is Snark, keep in mind that "exeption to the rule", and follow the standards for his character. Bravo! Well done!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it - thanks for the encouraging review!

duj 2007.10.17 - 03:54AM 1: One-shot Signed
Convincingly and delicately handled. I also disliked the all-for-Lily revelations, especially since I had disliked her since I saw her James's victim as a prop for lirting with James in OotP, and disliked her even more after DH revealed that she was "pretending" to be the victim's best friend at the time. .I have one little quibble with this fic: Harry's comment that Dumbledore "always" got people right. That's just nostalgia and wishful thinking on Harry's part (as one might expect from someone who'd name his child after the puppetmaster who'd brought him up as a "pig to the slaughter".) Dumbledore trusted Lupin, who betrayed him as a student and as a colleague. For his own selfish advantage, Lupin spent the entire school year of PoA concealing how a supposed mass-murderer could invade the school to kill students. Dumbledore trusted Mundungus to carry out Order duties - which was how Harry almost got Kissed by a Dementor. Dumbledore believed in Sirius's guilt and Peter's innocence. Wrong again.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback; glad you found it convincing etc! :-) Regarding Dumbledore, yes, obviously there's a degree of nostalgia and wishful thinking on Harry's part, and that was intentional in the writing. It's Harry speaking as Harry and expressing his own view, not Harry speaking my views as a reader/writer. And of course Harry's judgement isn't always going to be crystal clear. As you say yourself, it's what you might expect Harry to say, which is why I had him say it because I think it's in character. Plus, I don't see Dumbledore's actions in the same negative light that you do, as the end result of his puppet-mastery was that Harry lived and the world was saved from Voldemort, which was always Dumbledore's aim - the alternative would have been far more harmful to both Harry and humanity as a whole. I think it would be pushing it to say that Lupin betrayed Dumbledore over Sirius. If Sirius had been a murderer, then yes, it would have been a betrayal, but Lupin (if not Dumbledore) was aware that Sirius wasn't a murderer and therefore his motives were sound. So, in essence Dumbledore was right to trust Lupin, because ultimately Lupin was on the side of justice in protecting an innocent man. Dumbledore wasn't right about the details, but he was right about the essence of Lupin's character. And Lupin's actions weren't selfish at all - he was protecting an innocent man who had been wrongly accused of murder and bringing Harry into contact with his godfather who adored him and gave him a few short years of something resembling a family life. Nothing selfish about that. I also disagree with your views on Lily - I don't think she used Snape as a prop to flirt with James; she still disliked James immensely at that stage and made it quite clear. I also don't think that she was 'pretending' to be Snape's friend. I also think that the revelations about Snape's love for her in DH were OK; what I dislike is the idea that some readers have that Snape is a great and sensitive romantic who was just pretending to be a bit of a shit all along, because I think that Snape is actually a bit of a shit, genuinely. His love for Lily is the exception in his character, not the rule. However, this probably really isn't the place for any of these debates! Your feedback is very much appreciated.

MimiManderly 2007.10.15 - 09:21PM 1: One-shot Signed
Bravo! This was an incredibly beautiful little story and I'm spattering tears onto my keyboard as I write this. You have captured the very essence of Severus - something very few writers seem able to do. Some may capture the snarkiness - that's easy. Some go a little overboard on the emo. But reading this, I was able to say to myself, "Yup, that's Severus, alright!" I will certainly look up any other stories you have posted here posthaste. Thank you so much for this gem!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm so glad you liked it! Telling me I've captured the essence of Severus is one the biggest compliments you could have given me! I haven't posted any other stories yet but I plan to write more soon, so watch this space! :-)

NervousAboutAngels 2007.10.13 - 01:40PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Very well written indeed. I particularly enjoyed the moment when Snape told Harry he'd done the one thing he could as Snape died. What a touching moment. I had to hold back the tears. Additionally, the paintings of Lily were very touching. You made me smile- even if it was a rather sad smile. Poor Severus :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Poor Severus, indeed, but at least he's getting some small degree of closure... he'll still be a miserable sarcastic git though, because that's how I like him!

athenakt from Live/Insanejournal 2007.10.12 - 02:25PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Very well written. I enjoyed the characterizations, and particularly the pictures at the end.

Author's Response: Thanks v much!

brainorgan 2007.10.12 - 12:16AM 1: One-shot Signed
I LOVED it!! What a great way for Albus Severus to have gotten his name!

Author's Response: Cheers, glad you liked it.

Irena Candy 2007.10.11 - 06:40PM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Lovely, lovely, lovely! It brought tears to my eyes.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it. Don't cry too much though ;-)

MoreThanSirius 2007.10.11 - 09:14AM 1: One-shot Signed
Oh, my! Closure at last. For Harry, for Snape and for me. Thank you so much for a heart-tugging story. It's so lovely to know that Snape is finally getting to rest in peace.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it. It's really tickled me that so many people have said it's given them closure - I even got closure myself by writing it. It's like therapy-through-fanfic!

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved