Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Snape's Portrait

Overhill 2008.07.11 - 01:14AM 1: One-shot Signed
I like how well you did Snape's voice; it was as if I could hear him as I read the piece. I appreciate the beautiful detail of Frank Longbottom's picture - it would be great if someone could do a rendition of it. (I had to look up the word "sarky" as I hadn't read it before, as wasn't sure about it.) I like too, how you portrayed Snape's portrait life, including how the letter and pictures would have been put into it, and how he decided to postpone destroying some of the items. All in all, very nicely done.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, 'sarky'... see, every time I read the word 'snarky' in an HP fanfic I want to scream because it's an Americanism - perfectly good word if you're writing dialogue for an American character, but not for a Brit: we don't use it here in the UK. But we do use 'sarky' which is an abbreviation for 'sarcastic'. Being English, I like to fly the flag for my native language. :-) I adore writing Snape's dialogue so I'm thrilled that you could imagine him speaking the words I wrote for him! Many thanks for your kind review.

TheGreatOracle 2008.06.22 - 09:47AM 1: One-shot Signed
Wow! :p I cried so much! :p That's a really great story!

Author's Response: Thanks - I'm glad you liked it. :-)

Agnus Castus 2008.01.01 - 12:51PM 1: One-shot Signed
Your story is well thought out and beautifully detailed, making it a believable and compelling read. Snape is wonderfully true to character; his dialogue realistic and dripping with disdain. I simply loved the description of his soul: the chilling cries of anguish which never left him. That brought a lump to my throat! Well done. I look forward to reading your next one...

Author's Response: Ta v much! :-)

kdp 2007.12.10 - 08:07AM 1: One-shot Signed
I really like this story and yes I also cried a lot :). I really liked your characterization of Harry and Severus I found them very accurate. Well done

Author's Response: I seem to be keeping Kleenex in business at the moment! Thanks v much for your review. This was my first ever fanfic, so it's been great to get such an encouraging response. I'm working on two more stories at the moment, one for this site and another more (ahem) 'adult' one for Ashwinder.

RenitaLeandra 2007.12.09 - 11:40PM 1: One-shot Signed
I came here by way of harmony_bites rec on Know it Alls. This was touching. Harry's maturity and his desire to let Portrait!Snape know what the real Snape should have been told in life was greatly moving. And Snape is very much in character. I just love this. You brought a tear to my eye. And this story offers great closure for those of us Snape fans that had wanted something more for him in the books. Thank you for writing this. I look forward to seeing what else you have in store for us.

Author's Response: Ah, another person who cried... I am amazed that my story's tissue count is so high! I'm really glad you felt that I managed to keep Snape in character too. Thanks very much for your kind words! :-)

handpfeather 2007.12.02 - 01:02AM 1: One-shot Anonymous
Bravo! I found your characterization of Snape completely on target. I adored the idea of a candid shot of Lily and Sev - that is the best. Thanks for the read! Bravo again! ~H

Author's Response: Thanks very much - glad you enjoyed it! I plan to write more stuff eventually but keep getting distracted! :-)

monicarnsg 2007.11.16 - 04:42PM 1: One-shot Signed
Hi. I've just read your story: Snape's Portrait. I love it. it made me laugh and cry. I found the link to your story in the email you sent out to the group of Rickman_PicsandFics. Welcome to the group!

monicarnsg 2007.11.16 - 04:41PM 1: One-shot Signed
Hi. I've just read your story: Snape's Portrait. I love it. it made me laugh and cry. I found the link to your story in the email you sent out to the group of Rickman_PicsandFics. Welcome to the group!

Author's Response: So good you reviewed it twice? ;-) Glad you liked it - laughing AND crying is always a good sign! Thanks for the kind words and the welcome!

memory 2007.11.11 - 07:05PM 1: One-shot Signed
I hope you will read this review. I have discovered your piece through a happy combination, having checked the profile of another member who put it in her favorites. Now, the first thing I want to say is that I am Italian, so please excuse my terrible English. The second one is that I didn’t cry but – third one – the story is very beautiful and touching, so I wanted to congratulate you. If, furthermore, this is your first attempt, well, double congrats! Now, more comments for the joy of the author: what I have really enjoyed are the many details you invented. I always look for inventive writers, the ones able to add their own vision to JKR’s one. The idea of Severus’ living in his quarters in the picture, putting on and taking off his cloak, or drinking firewhisky, was highly enjoyable. (Even if also very sad, in a way, I must admit, as it can give the idea of a prison). The patch with the envelope and its “layered” content is also an other great intuition! I never thought of the possibilites of exchanging objects with the people in the portraits. That was brilliantly done. Finally, I enjoyed very much the conversation. Severus is dry, ironic and inflexible. No warmth or affection for his former pupils. Harry is finally less impulsive and emotional, having probably reached a balance in his feelings. I particularly loved the introduction of Albus Severus and the feelings he raised in Severus, making him feel like a grandfather, in a way, or better, a godfather. Well, what else to say? Good job. Congratulations and brava! (you are a girl, I saw from your profile, so the correct word is brava, not bravo). Hope to read more from you, I’ll keep an eye on your name. Best regards from Italy.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I agree that there is something sad about him being confined to his rooms in the painting, as it is rather like living your whole life under house arrest. Thanks so much for your kind review! :-)

Sephia 2007.10.25 - 10:49PM 1: One-shot Signed
That was beautiful. I loved your description of Snape, and I'm glad he and Harry had those few minutes to put the past behind them.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked my portrayal of Snape as I love the character and really wanted to do the right thing by him!

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved