Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for The Great Snape-Deveroux Grudge Match - Part III: Farewell

SevereWrath 2008.07.02 - 10:16PM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
This is an amazing story. One of the best Snape stories I've read. You ("you" being plural here, as I understand it) write the Death Eaters very, very, very well. I've read different approaches that were good, but you write JK Rowling's Lord Voldemort & the Death Eaters better than JK Rowling does. Good plotting too, although my one comment would be that I don't really understand the Black Cauldron diversion. Well written and interesting, but possibly would have made a better independent story with just the details thrown in here. It's distracted from the plot, most noticeably from the suspense of Snape being captured. The rest of it though - particularly the onroaching Darkness from the Death Eaters, how the Order and so on responds - is amazing. You've added a depth to Rowling's world that she never managed to, even while keeping within the vast majority of her characterizations. Aurellia Deveroux is a great character, and you've written the whole thing - her interactions with Snape, particularly the romance - exceptionally beautifully, such that the audience knew only as much as either character. Which, given the emotional quality of both of them, is saying something. I'm very sad to hear that this story, most likely, will not be finished. It's a shame to leave a gem like this so close to perfection. But: Real Life comes first. Thank you for enriching the world a little bit more, and I hope you've enjoyed writing thus far. Best wishes; - SevereWrath

celestialrain 2008.05.06 - 05:28AM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
I have enjoyed this story. It was really different, but interesting, too. I'm sorry to see that you have chosen to abandon it. Maybe you could finish it up in one or two chapters and call it good!? Please? Or at least give us some idea in a review comment of how you envisioned this story ending. Also, if it isn't going to be finished you ought to either pull it or remove it from the list of completed stories. The first two parts are listed as complete, but since they are cliffhangers, they aren't really complete. Put them all together into one story and give it an ending. Doesn't really matter if it has been several years or the books went in a different direction. The story is AU anyway. Lots of stories are AU. They are still good stories and deserve an ending. Aside from all that, I think you write really well and I've liked the story.

Pigwidgeon 2008.03.18 - 12:39AM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
Note from the author: This is something I never thought I would write. The Great Snape-Deveroux Grudge Match, in all likelyhood, will not be finished. That is painful to say. This story was started more than a year before OoTP came out by my best friend and I, and involved a lot of work, outlining and thought. I know several people -- at least at one time --have been following this story, and I hate to leave things as they are. But real life issues have hit us both hard, and things are unlikely to improve anytime soon. To those who have been following this, I am terribly, terribly sorry. Even a year ago, I never dreamed of not finishing Grudge Match, and neither did my co-author. I appreciate the questions and feedback left for us on Grudge Match. In my case, at least, I think I have improved as a writer. May better times smile on us all. -- Pigwidgeon

KessaSnape 2008.03.15 - 12:38PM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
I really hope you didn't abandon this story, because it is one of my favorites!

sevylicious 2008.02.09 - 01:27PM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
hey! firstly let me commend you on a really brilliant fic. i have read loads (probally too many) fics with a snape/oc depiction and yours is invariably one of the most unique and interesting. I have to disagree with those flamin reviews on account that this is FAN fic for a reason, where the plot of a fic is what an author decides to make of it. Constructive criticism is one thing, but if you just dont like the way the plot turns, simply read something thats more predictable. Having said that, I am interested in seeing more of Snape and given the date of your last post ,I have to wonder whether this fic is still active or on hiatus (I'm loathe to think that it has been abandoned)..

Schattenengel 2007.12.12 - 11:19PM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
Pwease write more! If I don't find out what happens my head will esplode!

Isanisty 2007.11.18 - 03:55AM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
Please update. I'm hooked and absolutely need to know how they're going to get to Severus.

cardigrl 2007.05.20 - 02:14AM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Anonymous
I must confess to being increasingly disappointed in what started out as such a good story. Although I can see the benefit of a story line that shows the fallout from Snape's absence, this story really doesn't seem to do that. While your summary says that the characters will face the consequences of their actions, we have yet to see any real hint of that, and we are 21 chapters into the story. Yes, certainly Snape and Moody have faced the consequences of the little brats' actions, but the teenagers don't seem to be facing any consequences at all. Aurelia broke an oath, and has faced nothing negative at all from that. What unhappiness she has revolves instead around her absorption in her family's suffering, rather than her fecklessness or Snape's resultant torture. This last chapter was especially disappointing in this regard. You have Harry making a conscious, malicious decision to manipulate Crabbe for Harry's own benefit, which he abandons for Harry's more immediate gratification. Then you compound his arrogance by having Dumbledore give positive reinforcement for his actions. I'm sorry, but HOW is that having any of these people face the consequences of their actions? It's frankly quite disappointing, that it seems your idea of Snape's importance to Hogwarts is that the kids would not be able to play intricate fantasy games with each other in the Great Hall (or to get into over-the-top fights with each other) if Snape were around to keep them in line. I aways thought Snape was a little more important in the main story arcs than that, but it seems you have a much different view of his relevance.

Mahgem 2007.05.10 - 10:40AM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Anonymous
I think this was a good chapter, but as another reviewer said before me, I'm beginning to miss Snape a little. However, since you said he'd be back I patiently await your creative genious that hasn't let me down before. I have to disagree with the bad reviews of the whole Harry-Crabbe-and-the-Sickle part. Even if it does seem very materialistic and a little immature of Harry to momentarily abandon his peace-seeking plan for money, I think it illustrates how we can all be dissuaded from a good deed by trifles and childishness. I think the author is presenting Harry as just a regular boy with regular impulses, and not the uber-mature, wise and kind teenager he's painted out to be in other stories. Yes, it seems exaggerated in this case, but it shows something different than most HP fanfics out there. This story is fabulous, and it *is* about Snape (anyone would know that if they bothered to read the whole sequence). And in way the story is still about Snape... about the repercussions of his disappearance. I only have one comment, something that does seem a bit odd. It appears to me that Aurealia isn't really concerned about Snape's well being at all anymore. I'm not sure how much time has passed but it doesn't seem to be too long. Is there a reason behind this? Thanks for updating!

Author's Response: Thanks-- and rest assured, Snape will be seen again in Chapter 55. Aurellia is still very much worried about Snape. Remember, when Lupin comes to find her and give her the scattershards, she's still looking through the Watcher's books to find a way to rescue him. Keep in mind -- she has no idea where he might have been taken. No one does. But this will come up again Let's just say -- Aurellia finds a possible (and I have to stress POSSIBLE) solution -- but one that carries a huge risk. Also, for those who are wondering about the pace-- sorry! But yes, a lot of the first bit is the fallout of Snape's disappearance and its impact. My co-author and I, in a way, are kind of pleased to see everyone misses Snape. Because the other characters do, too. After the next couple chapters, things are going to really pick up.

NoxSomnium 2007.04.29 - 11:12AM 21: 53c Here Be Dragons Signed
The whole sickle thing was really odd. Harry's gone all essence of teenager hasn't he. Oh dear. Selfish, stupid, and misunderstood. He seemed to get over it a little before the end, between the invisibility cloak and Filch. I don't agree with the note though. He intended to do the right thing, then he backed out half way through for absurdly selfish reasons. Which is more important, a person or a shiny (normally) piece of metal. I disagree with Dumbledores manner of reenforcement. There should be some scolding in there. That, and I'm dying to know what is happening to Snape.

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved