Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for A Matter of Age

morgaine_dulac 2008.06.26 - 02:33PM 2: ... And into the Frying Pan Signed
I just have to ask: are you a teacher yourself? The tone you have with dunderheads makes me wonder.

Joyce 2006.01.13 - 05:30AM 2: ... And into the Frying Pan Anonymous
Ha! That was excellent!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!

Horserider 2005.12.03 - 04:57AM 2: ... And into the Frying Pan Anonymous
Love it! So this is how Snape got into his habit of the first-year speech...good insights! ~HR

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for R&R!

Verity Brown 2005.11.22 - 12:23PM 2: ... And into the Frying Pan Signed
These chapter titles are great. :~)

Obviously this was written pre-HBP. Who was substituting in Potions after the old teacher died? I love conversation between Snape and Dumbledore. But how is Snape supposed to keep up a connection with Malfoy when all the DEs know that Snape sold out?

Which Weasley is this? Bill? BTW, don't necessarily believe the Lexicon. Unless Sirius was born in September or October (possible but not statistically likely), Snape was born in 1959.

Author's Response: The eldest Weasley, I forgot whether it is Bill or Charly ... I do hope the DE don't know about Snape selling them out, did I mention this in the story somehow? Have to check it .. Thanks for reviewing!

Verity Brown 2005.11.22 - 12:04PM 1: Out of the fire Signed
I'm curious about when this was written. It's very interesting--love the description of what happens to the Dark Mark!--but there are canon facts it doesn't seem to take into account. Harry was protected by his mother's sacrifice, not by anything Dumbledore did. And, conversely, Dumbledore's decision to give Harry to the Dursleys *does* seem to have based on a form of Old Magic he was able to use (drawing on the protection of Lily's blood), not merely on the idea that Harry shouldn't grow up a celebrity.

Author's Response: I wrote it February/March 04, so it's quite old already. You are right about Dumbledore's role, although when I wrote the story, I thought there must be something more than just Lily giving her life for Harry to make the Avada Kedavra bounce back at Voldemort and almost destroy him for good. Now it seems like Lily's sacrifice was indeed all that was required to have the effect. Thank you for your reviews!

Trickie Woo 2005.11.18 - 02:08AM 2: ... And into the Frying Pan Signed
Poor Severus, he never had any choice both before he made the wrong decision to become a Deatheater or afterwards, everything was forced on him. No wonder he became the kind of teacher he is, but you have to admit his students learned their potions. I had a music theory teacher like that in college, you learned your theory or you face humiliation. He also used red ink to mark papers, when he handed them back it looked like he bled over them. I can empathize with him on using the taking of points and giving dententions, it was something he could control. His classes were the only things out side himself he was allowed to control, but he was expected, no required to have complete self control while being used by both sides. I hope by the end of Book 7 Rowling allows him to find some happiness in his life, I hope she allows him to survive and find redemption, atonement, and vindication.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I do hope so too! But I fear Rowling will have some other plans ... I probably should learn a few things from Severus, I'm too nice to my students.

Arachnae 2005.11.15 - 09:48PM 1: Out of the fire Signed
Looks good so far. Write more?

Author's Response: Yes, there will be one more chapter, unfortunately the admins sent it back because of some missing commas. I already corrected it and sent it back, hope they will accept it now ...

greenwood 2005.11.14 - 10:22PM 1: Out of the fire Anonymous
Good story so far. Seems it would have more to follow. Interesting twist that it was Dumbledore not Harry's mother that saved him...

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! There will be one more chapter, hope it will be up soon. I already sent it to the admins. In my opinion, there should be something more than just Lily dying for Harry to have such an effect on a dark wizard like Voldemort, that's why I think that Dumbledore cast some useful spell, too. That spell in combination with the sacrifice did the job.

Lady Whitehart 2005.11.12 - 11:37PM 1: Out of the fire Signed
O poopie I went down too far on the rating thingy. Sorry about that.

Lady Whitehart 2005.11.12 - 10:17PM 1: Out of the fire Signed
I know I've read this somewhere, but I can't remember where. I love stories about a younger Snape. A very good beginning, I'm looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I did publish the story on fanfiction.net and fictionally.org, so you might have read it there. The second and last chapter should be up soon.




Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved