Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for An Exercise in Pointlessness

Lily Severn 2008.01.04 - 06:51PM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Poor Severus. =( This is a wonderful story, emotional and strong. Thank you for delving into his character. You've captured him extremely well. =) Great work!

MithLuin 2007.08.10 - 12:05PM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Well, re-reading this after DH, I'd have to say....you nailed it. Snape's relationship with Dumbledore is almost precisely what you presented here. But unlike canon - you've let him say something about it ;). Great job!

LetumVoro 2006.07.31 - 01:17AM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Really nice oneshot here. Snape is very IC. His wit, sarcasm, and acerbic nature shine through. I really liked that his last communication would be to Dumbledore, whom his life has been so affected by. Great work!

Author's Response: I know it's late to be answering this review (it's been a long year), but I just wanted to say thank you! I really appreciate the review, esp. your comments on Snape's characterization.

Aeron 2005.10.21 - 02:11AM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Oh - that was wonderful! *sigh* Anyway, like those before me, I would like to say that I absolutely LOVE the way you've handled this particular scenario. Snape's characterization is perfect - even in introspection, you allow him to be his sarcastic, supremely articulate self. He may not blame others for his mistakes or allow himself forgiveness, but you make me want to forgive his actions somewhat: I don't pity him, but I can have sympathy for him. This scenario makes me wonder though: did Snape and Dumbledore "choose what was right or what was easy" at the end of HBP? Snape is one of my favorite characters and JKR basically left him as a dead man walking, no matter his motivation at the end of Book 6. Guess I'll just have to wait like everyone else to see how it goes... In the mean time, keep writing these wonderful, amazing stories!

Author's Response: I'm with you on this; Snape is now one of my favorite characters, so it breaks my heart that JKR's left him so little possibility of redemption. At least we have a little while yet to hold onto our hope. In any case, thanks so much for your thoughtful review! The story resulted from the MN challenge "Letters to heaven," but I was a bit nervous about having Snape write a letter to DD, or to anyone for that matter. I worried that such an act on his part would be, in itself, out of character. I'm delighted to hear you feel I succeeded!

Question_it 2005.10.18 - 01:14AM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
This was a very good story.

Author's Response: Thank you.

Trickie Woo 2005.10.15 - 08:02PM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Yes, I do think he's redeemable, in fact I think he's already redeemed. The sins committed agains him by Voldemort, the Deatheaters, Dumbledore, the Order, and the rest of the wizarding world far outnumber any that he's committed himself. The things he's done for the Order, the lives he's saved, and the young minds he's opened to critical thinking, in spite of and because of his method of teaching, since coming to Hogwarts to teach far outweigh any sins he committed as a Deatheater. I'd say that when St. Peter weighs them on the scales they will be tipped way over on the side of good. And I am stubborn enough to feel that way no matter what JKR writes in Book 7. But I feel there are too many hints, clues, and red herrings in HBP for it to come out any way other than Snape is good and is redeemed. Her favorite comment about any of the books seems to be "All is not as it seems.", and I'm holding her to it.

Author's Response: Cheers to that!

Trickie Woo 2005.10.15 - 03:08AM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Like duj, I also wondered if they would find it after his execution. Would they strip his body as muggles do before a body goes in the morgue? If they found it would they believe it and make it know so that he would be posthumously redeemed? Or would they just ignore it and let everyone think his soul was damned to Hell? Or, possibly, would his spirit go back to Hogwarts and join the other ghosts. I wonder what happened to Dumbledore's spirit/soul, since he was the other side of Voldemort. He manipulated people into doing what he wanted and used them just as shamelessly. Would he be Snape's companion in Hell, or is one or the other, or both in purgatory, or maybe in limbo? I have no idea how or why these questions have come to me, I'm not even Catholic, I'm a backsliding, non-believing Episcopalian. It surprises me that I can ponder someone's spiritual journey, even a fictional character like Snape.

Author's Response: I'm so glad I got you pondering! My thoughts? I don't think they'll look too closely since they probably already searched him when they imprisoned him. As far as the afterlife...I don't believe in Hell; I just can't help but think (hope?) that God is too good to allow such a place. Nothingness for the truly unredeemable would be best. But I think the Snape in this story is redeemable. If he's able to make peace with his own conscience, I don't see him needing anyone to see his letter--his soul should move on just fine without anyone else's permission (except God's, if that's your belief system). Hmmm...I can't see Snape as ghost material--not the Snape in my story anyway. He has accepted his fate so has nothing to hold him here. Not that any of this really matters for the story, of course. LOL! Anyway, thanks so much for the review!

Melpomene Erato 2005.10.14 - 05:25AM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Anonymous
Very, very good.

Author's Response: Thank you!

squeeze 2005.10.12 - 06:33PM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
Very good.... I can imagine everything being cleared up as to what side Snape is really on in the last book, but after his death, unfortunately. To me, he has always been a victim; first he suffers an abusive childhood, then he is bullied at school, and finally he gets caught in the crossfire between Voldemort and Dumbledore. No last-minute reprieve either. A very true-to -canon Snape pouring out his feelings of bitterness. Excellent story.

Author's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. I'm in agreement with you about Snape being victimized--not that that excuses his actions, but it does seem likely that it will continue onto his death.

Sigune 2005.10.12 - 02:16PM 1: A Letter to Dumbledore Signed
*SOB*

Sorry... You know, this is why I don't dare to write my own after-it-is-all-over Snape story ... because I think that he'd end up like this ... and I don't want that. Still, me being in denial is nothing against your prose :-). Bone-chilling. Euch. Snape deaths always affect me badly; I just don't want to think about it happening in canon... *>_<*

Author's Response: Someday I want to do the alternative. That is, write a story in which everything works out all right, Dumbledore isn't really dead, and Snape gets to save the day instead of the-boy-who-gets-way-too-much-credit-even-when-he's-acting-like-an-idiot. LOL! (Just kidding about Harry; I still love him too.) I'm so glad my prose had an effect on you...even if it was to elicit sadness for Snape's plight. That character seems to deserve some sympathy, doesn't he?


[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved