Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for After the Fall

LogicalQuirk 2007.04.10 - 08:34PM 1: A Suite of Poems Anonymous
11-24-2006 12:55

Rated 10

This is one of my favourites, I'd like to say well done if I may! I love the blunt characterisations and also the different structures of the verses.



Author's Response: I "found" your kind comments when moving reviews from Mage back to SH. Just to say how much I appreciate this review, and to apologize for not replying sooner!

gthistle 2007.04.10 - 08:32PM 1: A Suite of Poems Anonymous
11-01-2006 07:24

Rated 9

Ooh, glorious. I love the second haiku of IV, and I have no words for III. III.A. is a sonnet, no? I don't see the lj entry you reference, and it's been awhile... and the refrains of III.B. feel a bit like slowly-closing curtains.

Might not the title of I. be spelled "Lightning"? :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, gthistle! I love your image of closing curtains ( la Spinner's End?), and that would be the pantoum form with those repeated refrains. Yes, III.A is a sonnet! And speaking of "slowly" ... please accept my apologies for not reponding to this kind review much, much sooner.

LariLee 2005.09.10 - 01:58AM 1: A Suite of Poems Signed
Okay, I will admit that I know nothing about poetry. However, Tonight, he fell. For me, hell
Would be a kindness now. Though they hated me,
They believed I would at least protect them, stand
Behind their cause. I refuse to be redeemed
For a vow I could not break, wrought by my hand.

is one of the most moving things I have read in a very long time. It was all powerful and moving, but that really got me.
~Lisa

Author's Response: Lisa, I really appreciate your telling me that you found this moving. Some "real" poets might disagree, but for me, poetry is simply about stirring the emotions and the imagination. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed this!

June W 2005.09.08 - 10:16PM 1: A Suite of Poems Anonymous
Erm ... Hermione kills him? Obliviates him?

Author's Response: Could Hermione bring herself to kill him? That's not something I'd envisioned. It seems to me it would be in character for her to do something more compassionate: whether Obliviation or allowing him the use of a Pensieve. Thanks for reading these, my dear June!

droxy 2005.09.08 - 10:16PM 1: A Suite of Poems Anonymous
lovely. My favorite has to be part two. "May my cries pull galaxies apart." Just lovely heart wrenching imagery of grief.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, droxy! I'm glad that imagery resonated.

aerynfire 2005.09.08 - 08:52PM 1: A Suite of Poems Signed
Wow...fascinating. I'm not very good a reviewing poetry...but I really liked (and also which stood to me the most) the first one. It was very compelling and the disgust and anger in it was palpitable...I also got the hint of remorse (or maybe I just imagined that...heheh). The last one also struck a cord...the chill...frozen. Awesome work! ~Aeryn

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Aeryn! That's all I wanted to do here--convey certain feelings, whether strong or subtle. The emotions you highlight in the Tower poem are in keeping with some current "favourite" theories about why Snape did what he did. But the last, with its possible act of mercy, is sheer AU.




Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved