Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Eileen and Tobias

LChaim 2010.05.13 - 12:22AM 2: Two Signed
I loved it! It was really nice to see thier family dynamics! A very, very enjoyable story! THis is going on my favorites!

testingt 2008.04.17 - 12:53AM 2: Two Signed
It's internally consistent, works with what we know of the characters, and plays like a human-scale Greek tragedy, especially Severus's experimentation setting off the explosion. My own take is, that image was at the top of Snape's mind to be seen by Harry because Harry's abuse at the Dursley's hands reminded S. of his own childhood--but you definitely make an alternate vision work.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review so thoughtfully; I very much appreciate it. Again, I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

testingt 2008.04.17 - 12:32AM 1: One Signed
Very nicely done--a different view. I love how you give Severus his fierce intelligence and loyalty from both sides--and how the conflict between Tobias and Eileen is unavoidable. And Severus testing his hypothesis with the mark on the syrup bottle--a logical mind applying itself to what his dad would consider the ultimate illogic!! Thank you for good work.

Author's Response: Thanks very much for taking the time to tell me what you liked! I'm very glad you enjoyed it.

Kristal River 2007.05.23 - 08:12PM 2: Two Signed
This is a wonderful story that explains the scene Harry saw in Snape's mind and how he came to know so many hexes at an early age. It is the first story I've seen on this subject that has Snape coming from a home where both his parents love him. Very original slant on his childhood.

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review! When I found out that Snape was half-blood, that made me wonder if there might be another explanation for the man-yelling-at-boy memory that Harry saw in the pensieve. This story basically grew out of that idea - the possibility that Snape's father was not abusive. There are all kinds of reasons for a parent to yell at their child, after all, and Snape must have been a problematic kid to raise.

firefly124 2006.09.07 - 11:25AM 2: Two Anonymous
I really like what you've done with this slice of Severus' childhood.

Author's Response: :-)

firefly124 2006.09.07 - 11:13AM 2: Two Anonymous
I really like what you've done with this slice of Severus' childhood.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :-)

angelicallydemonic 2006.08.10 - 06:25PM 2: Two Signed
Yes, that was a thoroughly depressing piece of work. But I must say, that I was quite angry that Snape's dad did hit is mother. But then again, it was a shock wasn't it? Poor kid. Ah well, I must say, I like the snarky Potions Master he turned into just the way he is.

Author's Response: Me too! :D I tried to make every character in the story a bit sympathetic and a bit unsympathetic; Tobias probably came out worst of everyone. Thanks for reviewing; I very much appreciate it!

Face 2006.05.05 - 05:12PM 2: Two Anonymous
*cries* At first i thought your story didn't fit with the canon but as i read on i realised that it did. I really want to hit Eileen now too...

Author's Response: Ah, don't say that - she had a hard life too. Thank you for the review! :)

memory 2006.05.03 - 01:36PM 2: Two Signed
Treasure-hunt review n. 9: Finally I arrived at the end of my reviews, if you had the patience (and the stomach) to read them all. Well, Iím sorry to say that this story is a question mark for me. The prose is yours, so it is good. But some of the characters are hardly believable. The young boys speak more adult than their age. Eileen is a bit frightful in the second part, but this is your choice to portray her, so nothing to say against. In general, I understand the ideas you wanted to express, but I feel there is something incomplete about them. Perhaps I should read it again.

Author's Response:

Hi Memory,

*grins* Maybe you're just tired of reading? I'm amazed that you read *all* my stories, and left a review for each one. Thank you so much! You're incredibly kind, and I'm very glad to have met you this way. Thanks for putting so much time into not just reading the stories, but trying to say something meaningful about them all. I love getting thoughtful reviews, and it's even better when they come from such a supportive and kind person as you!

Thanks for the Treasure-hunt!

Hugs,
mouse


Deeble 2006.01.07 - 08:06AM 2: Two Anonymous
Depressing, yes, but I really liked it because it not only seems reasonable, it takes the "Snape's father was horribly abusive" stereotype and turns it on its head. More tragic this way, I think.

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Deeble; I was trying to turn that stereotype on its head, to see if it would work as a story, because what we learned about Eileen Prince in HBP doesn't seem to add up to her being a doormat. Thanks for the review! I very much appreciate it.

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved