Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Caring for Dark Creatures

Deeble 2006.05.28 - 01:48PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Anonymous
I really liked this -- unusual and interesting (as Hagrid would say) to see young Snape from Hagrid's perspective.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

memory 2006.05.03 - 01:30PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Anonymous
Treasure-hunt review n. 6: Nice story! As always dialogs are fresh and intriguing, and characters are well portrayed. Finally a story in which Hagrid has the main role. And I loved the disclaimer with the infidels... I must say that sometimes your disclaimers are even better than the stories... well, no, just joking.

Author's Response:

Hi Memory,

Thanks again for the lovely review. I wasn't as happy with this story as with some of my other ones, so it's nice to hear that it was still enjoyable. And I agree with you - the disclaimer is probably better than the story, in this case. *grins*


Pigwidgeon 2006.04.13 - 04:58AM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
I really enjoyed this! The back and forth, step forward and step backwards between Hagrid and Snape was excellent. Also a bit heartbreaking, given what happens in HBP. I like the way you do your 12-year-old Snape -- a Slytherin with a vindictive streak, but perhaps not unsalvagable at that point.

Author's Response: Thank you, Pigwidgeon! And thank you also for saying what you liked in the story; I write fanfiction as a way of improving my writing skills, so it's always incredibly useful to me when someone says what worked and what didn't. Thanks for your lovely review, and thanks for the helpful input too! :D

KayLynn 2005.12.31 - 09:06PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Anonymous
Absolutely touching, thanks for an enjoyable read :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it. :D

MithLuin 2005.11.17 - 10:54PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
Well done! I agree that Hagrid seems to take Snape in stride. I've thought it was just that he respects Dumbledore sooo much, and he knows Dumbledore trusts Snape, therefore Snape must be alright.... but that remains silent on his younger years. I particularly liked the part where Hagrid catalogued all of Snape's faults with "ignoring that" or "looking past this" - it was quite a list! You can see why the man falls for dragons ;). And in the end, only the dark eyes came out as a possitive. That is, of course, one of the things they have in common.... I like the picture you paint. Thank you!

Author's Response: And thank you for such a lovely review! I'm very glad you liked the story. I like to think that Hagrid is an accurate judge of a person or beastie's good qualities, even though he's a bit hopeless at seeing their bad qualities. But I do wonder what Hagrid's opinion of Snape is going to be post-HBP - it will probably in keeping with his opinion of Sirius during PoA. O.O

cecelle1 2005.11.11 - 04:58AM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
This was beautiful! I loved the last line - just the idea that someone actually did want him around would be 'something' important. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked the story. :D

Apothecaria 2005.10.24 - 11:07PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
It's a lovely little vignette, and I don't know if you're wrong here, HBP and all.

Author's Response: It should be consistent with HBP, if only because it's vague. :D Thanks for the review.

duj 2005.10.19 - 09:03AM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
Lovely story but a Hagrid-youngSnape friendship doesn't quite jive with Hagrid's comment to Harry in book 1 that his parents "were as good a witch and wizard" as you couold imagine. Hagrid always seems totally unaware of what a bully James was. In someone less guileless I might expect he was being tactful but he never could keep a secret.

Author's Response: Hmm... Excellent points, but I would note that Hagrid is extremely loyal, and he has a tendency to not see the worst in any person or creature (look at Aragog, Norbert, etc.). I don't think he would speak ill of his dead friend James Potter, even if he had witnessed James being a bully. Hagrid can't keep a secret, but he is prone to self-deception when it comes to those he cares about. He doesn't see how bad a thing or person is.

Thanks for the review, and thank you especially for the concrit - I am always delighted to have a reviewer say specifically what worked or didn't work in one of my stories. You're helping me improve as a writer, and I thank you for it! :-D


valis2 2005.10.12 - 04:27PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
An interesting story! I like that you show a lot of Snape's thoughts and attitudes, yet you do it subtly. Very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it, Valis2. And it's lovely to see you over here at SH. *grins*

whitehound 2005.07.28 - 07:58PM 1: Caring for Dark Creatures Signed
A beautiful story, very well-written, and very nice to see inside Hagrid's head and see that his is brighter and more thoughtful than his bluff manner and thick accent usually allow us to see. It occurs to me that Hagrid and Snape would get on partly because they both have such enthusiasm for their subjects. Snape, with that sort of stamp-collecting interest in Dark spells and his passion for potions of all sorts, probably understands what Hagrid sees in giant, man-eating spiders better than anyone else at Hogwarts.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it, and those are exactly the sorts of thoughts that got me writing this story in the first place.

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved