Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for As She Likes It

Hyaene 2008.08.14 - 09:52AM 1: As She Likes It Signed
Wonderful. I was wondering all through the story, why you chose to let only Severus speak and not give Black any chance to reply. The end told me, though *lol* Very well written! Enjoyed it a lot! Added it to my favourites!

Penguin2006 2006.02.24 - 07:53AM 1: As She Likes It Signed
I really enjoyed the Snape point of view and thought it was carried off wonderfully - a tall order seeing that there is comparatively little Snape in total if you actually read the six books - he's such a striking character it just seems like there's more of him. So to write this much Snape first person so thoroughly in character is amazing. Such a sneering voice. My favourite phrase in the whole thing was 'ridiculous flying motorbike'. Just about sums it up. I agree with Potioncat, it would be entirely in character for Snape to ignore a character who had been expelled and so could not help him for his own selfish reasons. Just re-read it and found it even funnier. it occurs to me that where in the books the humour comes from Harry scoring off Snape, here Snape is scoring off Sirius and it is equally as funny. Delicious. You've got it building to a fantastic climax (bad pun) at the end where Snape is describing how he 'sealed the contract' with Brynhild. It's really well written, flowing effortlessly into and emphasising the gloating and taunting throughout the rest of the piece. The final few words just made me giggle. All over so quickly. Notes - I know your Snape has a Catholic history - but do wizards regularly go around saying 'God!' Has JKR ever used the word 'sorceress'? Because it seems to jar a little.

Author's Response: Thanks for the long review! No, the things you note are 'Sigunisms' - that is, I use 'sorceress' and 'sorcerer' to refer to Dark witches and wizards; the books are remarkably circumspect when it comes to Dark Arts, and I thought the Dark crowd might well have their own vocabulary. As for 'God', that's a bit of a reaction to all the 'Gods and Godesses' with which fandom abounds. My characters will either say 'Merlin' or 'God'. Many people who no longer practice their religion say 'God' as well, so I thought it would be natural.

Writing first person Snape was ... weird. I had done my best to avoid it previously, but this story refused to be written in any other way :). I'm glad you enjoyed it! -S.


Rainbow 2005.06.28 - 06:09PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
Excellent! Really in character and believeable. 10!

Author's Response: Wheee! Thanks very much, Rainbow! -S.

LariLee 2005.06.24 - 07:01AM 1: As She Likes It Signed
This is absolutely wonderful! I love Snape's characterization!
~Lisa

Author's Response: Thank you, Lisa! -S.

sophierom 2005.06.23 - 06:36PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
Er, sorry, I meant pictorial, not pictoral. And any other misspellings, um, well, I'm hungry, yeah, that's it!

Still, the fact remains: brilliant fic, and congrats on your win ... it's well deserved!

Author's Response: It is true: one cannot be brilliant on an empty stomach :-). Cheers, Sophie - and I hope you found some food... -S.

sophierom 2005.06.23 - 06:33PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
Wow, this is fantastic! Your Snape makes me so very uncomfortable (both in written and pictoral form) ... and I mean that as a big compliment. After all, were I a witch, I'd be a Hufflepuff, or perhaps a Neville-like Gryffindor, so it's in my nature to cringe and cower in the presence of such a sharp, edgy personality. ;-D Your manner of telling a story is as brilliant as your characterization. Best, Sophie

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Sophie! Yes, I'd cringe too if I met this Snape in the flesh - but I love to read and write him. He brings out the worst in me, yay :-P! -S.

gsdmommy 2005.06.22 - 09:01PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
Very nicely done! Lovely premise, delightfully executed. Thank you & congratulations.

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind review, gsdmommy! -S.

Grainne 2005.06.21 - 11:25PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
"More than half the satisfaction of scheming derives from sharing it with a kindred spirit, a connoisseur who can admire your handiwork." *applauds* Sigune, I hope you derive much satisfaction from your scheming, and whilst calling myself a kindred spirit seems, perhaps, a bit too forward, I most definitely am a connoisseur and admirer of your "handiwork." I adore "hearing" Snape, as we get only Harry-filtered hints of his inner landscape from canon. I read this through three times straight, and on each go I found more "Yes, YES!" moments--spot-on evaluations of human motivation and compelling characterization, all revealed in beautiful language. Congratulations on crafting this wonderful story and having it duly recognized; I eagerly await more of Miss Bromley!

Author's Response: Thank you, Grainne! It is so good to know that you enjoy reading what I enjoy writing; and yes, I do take pleasure from scheming, though it restricts itself to fiction :-). I am glad my Snape voice sounds right to you. Your "yes" moments make my day! -S.

Vocalion 2005.06.21 - 08:24PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
"Scandal lends interest to a man only when he gets away with it. If he gets caught, he is merely pitiful." -- "There is nothing as valuable as a good ally. I donít necessarily mean one of the powerful, Dumbledore kind. I mean an intellectual ally, someone at your wavelength, someone who will back you up regardless of right or wrong and purely for the sake of a beautiful plot. More than half the satisfaction of scheming derives from sharing it with a kindred spirit, a connoisseur who can admire your handiwork. Such people are rare" I just had to single out a couple of my favorite passages. I find more to admire with every read.

Author's Response: Thank you, Karina! - I have to confess that my main incentive for taking up this love triangle challenge in the first place was because it provided me with an excellent opportunity to spout this kind of (what I think of as) 'Snapeisms' :-). They are probably what I enjoy writing most. Thanks so much for appreciating them! -S.

Potioncat 2005.06.21 - 02:59PM 1: As She Likes It Signed
What a beautiful story...no sugar, all spice. This reads so true to Snape...the avoiding her when she left the wizarding world, the recognising her real value when he finds her later; no regrets for time lost, just gratitude for time found. All of this influenced by his upcoming duel with Black. Very good writing!

Author's Response: Thanks, Kathy! You encouraged me in this from the start - I'm very grateful for it! -S.

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved