Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for LOVE'S LABOURS, PARADISE LOST

Nephthys 2017.01.16 - 07:41PM 6: But have I not cause to weep? Signed
I had been enjoying Snape's characterisation in this story, but this chapter reads like OTT misogyny. He comes across as culpable for what happens to Celia and not remotely sympathetic now. Also Lucius is rather one-dimensional. I think perhaps the author is relying on brute violence to show how 'evil' Voldermort's Death Eaters are, but I don't think this is necessary and it kind of misses the point of the canon plot. Their evil aims are to do with power, immortality and 'pureblood' ideology, with violence being about any means to an end, rather than just for the hell of it. There's something in Rowling's books about Voldemort being able to show his more thuggish followers 'more refined forms of cruelty'. His Death Eaters are a gang, but they're an elitist gang with a particular aim - so imho there's plenty of darkness to go on in all that without this kind of disturbing 'rape as entertainment' scenario.

Librasmile 2016.09.05 - 05:18AM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
Read this moving work years ago and, to my shame, never reviewed it. I think. Either way, glad I found it again. I originally read it on FanFiction.net and was outraged to find it removed when I searched for it again. Although I wouldn't conceptualize Severus Snape this way, his character is beautifully wrought and I count this stories as one of the CLASSICS of Harry Potter fan fic. I also want to add that this story inspired me to write my own. Before I read this, it never occurred to me that there might be people who had so little magic they could barely get through Hogwarts yet were not squibs. That concept stayed in my mind and eventually inspired me to write "Confessions of a Cornwall Grad" a story about a graduate of what my Severus calls a "downmarket excuse of a school" the Cornwall Institute for Practical Magic. It's the school for all the folks who can't get into Hogwarts but aren't quite squibs. THANK YOU for the inspiration.

mampdx 2014.01.03 - 08:30PM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
Congratulations. You've written the first Snape fanfic to make me cry.

BloodRainFalling 2012.02.08 - 07:00PM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
I loved your version of Severus, adored the plot and you had me waiting with baited breath for the next time I could sit down and read, but I'd also like to say you're cruel, you made me cry, and I still loved every moment of it, thank you.

Slave_Of_Severus 2011.05.21 - 07:09AM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
A beautiful story. The second Epilogue was a wonderful read.. shed a small tear or two. Very emotional. =] well done!!

sevvy 2009.01.13 - 07:35AM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
So sorry, thought I'd better add this on! I have in fact read all of your other work (don't know what I was thinking of when I wrote that last bit previously!) but we've not heard anything from you for a while; maybe I'm just in need of something new from you as you are an exceptional writer with this being top of my list still!!

sevvy 2009.01.13 - 07:26AM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
I have just spent the last few days re-reading this amazing story (I read it quite a long time ago originally); I can't believe that I didn't review it then so I am doing so now to rectify this, unsure of whether or not you will ever read it. It does not matter either way as I feel it important for me to express (if only to myself!) in words what a truly magnificent piece of work this is! If I am totally honest, I prefer "my" Severus to be a little softer but, having said that, I think you have made him totally believable and 'in character' down to the last detail. It is obvious from reading this that, like me, you are not just an SS fan but a Rickmaniac too. Let's face it, when it comes to the art of seduction and playing the sadistic total bastard(even though we all know he can play the soft, sensitive hero equally well), no one does it better than Rickman; there is just something so alluring & magnetic about his screen persona that I don't think any other actor has been able to portray before or since (not for me anyway!) This story is really in a league of it's own - dare I say sophisticated (like the man himself), high-class and, forgive me here, 'grown up'; it makes most others look almost childish & silly by comparison. A great achievement in my view. At times (particularly the 'gang rape' led by Lucis Malfoy), I felt I should recoil & not read the details but your writing is such that I couldn't tear my eyes away from it and, horrible as it was for both reader & Celia, it made Snape's actions all the more plausible & interesting. As we all know now, he certainly didn't get the ending in DH from JKR that we would have liked &, even if this was the only sort of relationship he may have thought himself worthy of, at least it goes some way to consoling us fans. As for his skills as a lover, well we all knew that without saying of course! I realise it was written some long while ago & that you haven't done anything else on this site but I live in hope that you will; although I doubt it could ever surpass this.

Aquarian 2008.09.05 - 09:03PM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
excellent and unique

florence 2008.09.01 - 09:49PM 16: Epilogue, part 2 Signed
I hadn't read a fanfiction in years but a friend recommended yours to me and seeing as I had some time on my hands I decided to give it a try. Having spent the last 4 hours or so transfixed by your story I can safely say that I'm grateful to her for her suggestion. The last chapters brought tears to my eyes and though I have always preferred Severus Snape stories to enjoy happy endings, your unapologetic take on the canon was very sensitively done indeed. Excellent.

Author's Response: It has been so long since I've written HP fanfiction, there are times that it seems completely unreal to me. But I have to admit that it is very touching and gratifying to know that, even after all these years, some people are finding and enjoying what I have written.

tonksinger 2008.03.26 - 01:29AM 4: Patiently Receive My Medicine Signed
This is wonderful. I'm an English nerd, so all the Shakespeare and eveything is wonderful for me. I love Severus in this - even though I generally prefer the slightly fluffier versions of him, this is perfect. And it's just plain erotic. Really nice.

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved