Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for The Return of the Prodigal Son

Sylvia Linslade 2008.07.04 - 08:42PM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
I like Severus's exposition of why he's so interested in the Dark Arts.

Penguin2006 2006.03.20 - 12:05PM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
Wow! I think that this is my favourite story of yours of all those I have read so far. Even though 'my version' of why Snape decides to become Potions master is very different. It's just so well written. It's so exciting when your Dumbledore and Snape go head to head. I could feel the tension like electric sparks flying off the page. Favourite lines: "an unfortunate accident involving an exploding cauldron that left his hair a permanent electric blue and his elbows folding in the wrong direction" - of course, Dumbledore humour! And "how the stress on one syllable of an incantation makes all the difference" - Snape's love of accuracy, Sigune's love of fine words! When Snape describes his love of magic it is so beautiful and elegantly written. I REALLY didn't buy that Snape went to the Death Eaters just to get a research grant... but it didn't matter because I agree with the idea of a youthful Snape looking rebelliously for something in the wrong place and that leading to his disastrous decision. You have him ambitious here for knowledge, not power... interesting... When the usually reticent Snape gave away so much personal information about his father, calling him a "dim-witted git " I thought it was a bit unnecessary, but afterwards Snape felt "a rather violent disgust at having exposed himself" and after all, he was trying to convince Dumbledore by trying to be as honest as he could, so that worked well. Conclusion: Please write more stuff with Snape and Dumbledore! Ever thought of writing a longer piece sometime in the future?

Author's Response: Aargh! If this is my best story, that means I've regressed instead of improved! ::grins::

I'm working on a novel-length Snape story, which will have more Dumbledore in it (I love them both, and the combination of them even more :D) - but it will have to wait till I get big RL things in order. As for knowledge/power, I think Snape would be one of those people who realise that to a large extent knowledge equals power, or that it can at least be used to exert power :). Dumbledore knows it too.

It is difficult to keep Snape in character and having him confess at the same time, and his opening up to Dumbledore is usually the point at which I am criticised. But I think that without something of the kind, there was no way that Dumbledore would trust Snape; he's not such a fool. If it is the only way to convince Dumbledore (and thus to save his own skin), I think Snape would resort *even* to confession.

Thanks so much for the review! -S.


Marion 2005.11.23 - 02:49PM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
This is SO Snape! I hate the fanfics where he is consumed with remorse. Snape condemning Voldemort for making a slave out of him and for being petty for murdering Muggles ("what does that prove?") and consequently condemning himself for being *stupid*, that is sooo Slytherin. And sooo Snape. And I like the suggestion that using Occlumency gives him migraines and sours his temper. Good stuff!

Author's Response: Thnk you :-)! I didn't want him to break down, so this was the version I came up with... But I have to say HBP had me confused with Dumbledore's stressing Snape's remorse. No wonder Harry couldn't believe him - I couldn't either! We'll have to wait till book seven to find out *sigh*... Thanks for reviewing! -S.

duj 2005.08.31 - 11:27AM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
Very interesting analysis of Snape's possible motives and his abiding love for the Dark Arts.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, duj! This was my first ever Snape story, and it still determines much of my view of him. -S.

Ali1124 2005.05.11 - 11:43AM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
GREAT STORY!!

Author's Response: Glad you like it, Ali - thanks! -S.

Ali1124 2005.05.11 - 11:41AM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
GREAT STORY!!

Horserider 2005.02.02 - 06:22PM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
The best part of this was, for me, reading a story in which Snape is the Dark wizard I truly believe him to be, regardless of where his loyalties lie. I happen to think he would use any magic available to him to do what he sees fit to do, despite what other people might think, and that he would see any knowledge as just that...knowledge, neither good nor bad but defined by how it is used. Very well written! :) ~HR

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm happy you like my take on things, and appreciate Snape's love affair with knowledge. I hope one day to write a story about his relationship with *wisdom*, too, but so far I haven't seen any openings in canon for such a tale ;-). -S.

EXECUTR 2005.01.22 - 04:13PM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
Good story. I liked your ideas. Good character development.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm truly happy you didn't execute me . -S.

Daphne Dunham 2005.01.16 - 12:22AM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
This is oh-so-intelligent, and so well thought out. I adore theories on why/how Snape turned, and your tale is definitely one of the best I've come across. I'm really intrigued by your depiction of his family life -- it's quite original. Do keep up the truly excellent work. :) *rushes off to read other stories*

Author's Response: *grins delightedly* If all goes well, there will be more family and other life to look forward to. I'm working on it. -S.

aerynfire 2005.01.15 - 05:01PM 1: The Return of the Prodigal Son Signed
Wow! This was great...super build up of tension, and the flow was spot on. Also, the incorporation of the cannon details, and your look into his past and reasons for joining and leaving the Death Eaters was very inspired. Great job! ~Aeryn

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Aeryn! -S.

[Previous] 1 2 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved