Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Making an Effort

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 10:42AM 10: Aftermath Signed
Great chapter! The idea with the portkey that has to be chewed is awesome, and the toy snake is just sooo cute! *g* "i'm going to have a rodent problem" - soo funny *ggg*

Author's Response: Candy Port-keys are so IC for Dumbledore, I'm surprised Jo didn't use them :)

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 10:16AM 9: The End of Occlumency Lessons Signed
Oooh, evilly teasing Snape! *big fat grin* You do this really well! And I really love your Minerva, too. Again this is an awesome chapter, so well fitting in between the spots of canon we know. I particularly like that you show us the part of that scene at this time...

Author's Response: I believe his relationship with Minerva was especially important, given she's one of the teachers who knew him as a child.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 09:41AM 8: Fireworks Signed
I really like this chapter. Well done! The idea about Tonks being much less clumsy in her natural form is really a good one, and you make it work perfectly. Great how you make Snape reacting to Gred and Forge! That suits him very well in my eyes. I like the way the seducing is going on... like Snape is doing it against his better knowledge, and still not being able or at least wanting not to do it...

Author's Response: My theory of Tonks' natural appearance has turned out to be OOC, unfortunately. Jo missed a great opportunity, though maybe she didn't want to develop Tonks' character in such detail.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 09:14AM 7: In the Dungeons Signed
Great chapter! As always, I really like all your extra bits and pieces. Ah, my trunk-question is already answered. Nice how you found a solution for the transport problem. Cool, the shortcut from McGonagalls Office to the Gryffindor common room!

Author's Response: I think all the heads of houses have such shortcuts.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 08:07AM 6: In London Signed
Great chapter! Nicely realistic, the bit about the payment of ministry straff... And it's really a funny and good idea to make the muggle painkillers so effective for Snape, too! *big grin* "The Slytherin Monk!" *snort* Nice description. The reasons you give for it are similar to my own conclusions. Great how Tonks manages Umbridge! :o) What happened to her trunk, by the way? Having worked briefly in the civil service, too, I really enjoy your broadening of Umbrige's obsession with paperwork and the like...

Author's Response: Muggle painkillers would work as well on wizards as Muggles, though wizards would be biased to think otherwise. I also work in the civil service and have partly based my interpretation of Umbridge on a real person who was scarily similar. Umbridge, I believe, is the most nuanced HP villain. Oh, and Tonks' trunk makes it to Hogwarts (I thought I mentioned it somewhere), though I don't dwell on it.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 06:24AM 5: Back to School Signed
Awesome chapter! So much going on.. and the thing between the two slowly developing. Snape short-sighted - *grin* - how cute. I'd love to see him with glasses. Though I have to agree to some other review: if he is so short-sighted that he can't discern the coins, he's likely to have trouble teaching. As being increasingly short-sighted since childhood, I have been through different stages of that. So cute that Snape loves Chocolate - and is reluctant to give in to this liking before others, Tonks in particular... Snape's observations about Harry and so on are really interesting. I really like it that you give him so much insight and understandig, particularly as Dumbledore obviously hasn't...

Author's Response: If he's like me, he would have trouble seeing the itty bitty printing on coins but no trouble with writing on blackboards, for instance. I based this theory about his eyesight not on myself, though, but on the scene from "Snape's Worst Memory," where he's writing with his nose almost to the page. And considering how neglected he seemed to be as a child, makes sense that a vision problem might go uncorrected. As for his love of chocolate, that's totally self-indulgent, because I love chocolate. Though considering the role of chocolate in the Potterverse as an antidote to Dementor exposure, it's a pivotal sweet IMHO. And we can surmise even from before DH that he's a deeply private individual.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 04:34AM 4: Shopping, And Then Lunch Signed
Great chapter! I really love this story. The way Snape gets down to that Innis woman, or the banter afterwards at Grimmauld place... I really love the way you make your story and your ideas work with the characters staying so much IC and being so alive, too.

Author's Response: Grimmauld Place is one of my favourite HP settings, mainly because the adult characters take the stage there, pushing the kids out of the action, turning them into no more than evesdroppers. We learn a lot more about Sirius than we do from his interactions with the kids.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 04:30AM 3: The Summons, More Drinking, and Poisonous Mushrooms Signed
Now, this is getting more and more interesting and intriguing. The characters stay very much IC, but show so far unknown charaterisitcs, too - I like that very much. Interesting feature, the cruciatus killing his back... great chapter!

Author's Response: I have back trouble myself, and thought that being thrown on the floor with massive muscle spasms wracking your entire body can't be good for your back.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 04:28AM 2: The Challenge Signed
Another well done chapter! Your details and explanations of certains of them are intriguing. I'm starting to really like your Snape.

Author's Response: I think we all like him better than he likes himself.

Alcina vom Steinsberg 2007.10.04 - 04:25AM 1: Prologue Signed
Good start. I wasn't too sure about a SS/NT at first, but the start is promising.

Author's Response: Part of my attraction to SS/NT is it isn't a commonplace ship. Thanks for the review!

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved