Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for Mirror Mirror

Vocalion 2004.12.31 - 02:38PM 3: Part II: Adrift Signed
Excellent writing. A pleasure to read. Fabulous exposition and imagery.

Author's Response: *blush* ;-) Thanks! - S.

Quaxo 2004.12.26 - 11:23PM 4: Part III: Estranged Anonymous
Awesome story. Yay for someone who doesn't make one or both parents out to be the drunken anti-christ. Your description of Stephen and Septima's decaying relationship is excellent, very realistic. I expect further great things from you.

Author's Response: Why, thank you, Quaxo! I hope I'll live up to your expectations :-)... -S.

LariLee 2004.12.26 - 10:00PM 4: Part III: Estranged Signed
The saddest thing to me is that Stephen drove his wife away by his own groundless suspicions. Now, he's working on 'young Stephen'. Paranoia bits deep.
~Lisa

Author's Response: Well, 'groundless' - I'm not so sure... But Stephen certainly jumps to conclusions. - Thanks for reviewing, Lisa! S.

Silverthreads 2004.12.26 - 08:03PM 4: Part III: Estranged Signed
An interesting and unique viewpoint. Your writing is quite engaging, although occasionally rushed.

Author's Response: Erm - must be my character, I'm afraid... I like being concise in writing. Thanks for reviewing! - S.

rambkowalczyk 2004.12.20 - 02:41PM 3: Part II: Adrift Anonymous
The one thing you don't go into is how Dark magic is defined. Is it possible for his mother to practise it with out being evil? I can see how the father's prejudice has alienated his wife and causes her to be more bitter(?). And how they both try to use their son to further their own ends. I wonder if there was any way that the father could forgive the mother for being the daughter of Grindelwald supporters. In some respects his inability to forgive (or accept) makes him more evil although sympathetic. It is definately a story that poses some interesting questions.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! If you want to read Septimia's definition of Dark Arts, try my story "A Lesson in Darkness and Light" - that is all about it. As to the other matters: you'll have to read on... - S.

LariLee 2004.12.18 - 11:43PM 3: Part II: Adrift Signed
And to think, they had a happy marriage until Stephen found out about her family... not her, her family. I'm sure therapy would have helped. No wonder Septimia started arguing back--he became impossible to please.
I've seen too many bad marriages and divorces where the child(ren) is(are) pawns between battling parents. It's a terrible thing to watch. And Stephen should realize even "Light" or White magic can be used for evil.
You have a wonderful narrative on-going here. And your writing style is flawless. I should feel sorry for Stephen, however, I'm too close to suggesting he's a delusional paraniod (yeah, fun at parties but you don't want to take them home).
~Lisa

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Lisa! Yes, therapy might have helped - but that sort of things seems to be entirely absent from the Wizarding World, doesn't it? - Hmm, can't say too much... Stay tuned for further developments... - S.

LariLee 2004.12.13 - 11:40AM 2: Part I: Together Signed
Ah, the plot does thicken. Old Stephen needs to realize you'll always find what you're looking for. Not necessarily a nice thing. ~Lisa

Potioncat 2004.12.13 - 09:25AM 2: Part I: Together Anonymous
You've taken one scene from OoP (man yelling at woman) and created a wonderfull back story. I'm eager to see how you take the family dynamics after that scene. But at this point, having read your other stories, I am sympathetic to both parents. No good guy/bad guy here.

Potioncat 2004.12.13 - 07:40AM 1: Prologue: The Boy Again Anonymous
In one of your earlier stories, we see things from the mother's point of view and now we see the father's. This has taken us much like Rowling herself does, from thinking someone is good or bad to the very opposite, and finally to a shade of gray.

Vocalion 2004.12.12 - 08:33PM 2: Part I: Together Signed
This is a very compelling backstory you have created. You handle exposition beautifully with great flow and detail. You are quickly becoming one of my favorite authors at this site.

Author's Response: Gee, thanks! *^_^* I'll have to make sure to live up to this... S.

[Previous] 1 2 3 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Copyright 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved